Returning Weapon Property question


Rules Questions


"This special ability can only be placed on a weapon that can be thrown. A returning weapon flies through the air back to the creature that threw it. It returns to the thrower just before the creature's next turn (and is therefore ready to use again in that turn). Catching a returning weapon when it comes back is a free action. If the character can't catch it, or if the character has moved since throwing it, the weapon drops to the ground in the square from which it was thrown."

I have been of the assumption that a returning weapon can only be used for one attack hence if you have multiple attacks it is only useable once. Though it returns so as to not provoke attacks of opportunity and to be used in attacks of opportunity.

This makes sense but it makes iconic weapons like Ageis Fang, Dwarven Throwers and Captain Andoran's Shield not that useful because they do not get their additional attacks.

Am I wrong.

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Captain Andoren only needs one attack. Because when Captain Andoren throws his mighty shield, all those who chose to oppose his shield must yield.

But yes, that is exactly what the Returning property does. If you want multiple attacks with the same thrown weapon each turn, consider the Blink Back Belt.


Note, you would not be able to use your "returning" weapon for an AoO as it does not return to you until just before your next turn. Which would also mean, if it is your only weapon, you do not threaten during that same time as well.


Well it says it can be used again in that turn so I took that to mean you would continue to threaten.

Silver Crusade

How are you using a ranged weapon to take an AoO?

Attacks of Opportunity wrote:
An attack of opportunity is a single melee attack


Daggers can have the returning property and they are both a Melee and a thrown weapon.


PrinceDogWaterIII wrote:
Daggers can have the returning property and they are both a Melee and a thrown weapon.

As are clubs, shortspears, normal spears, throwing axes, light hammers, starknives, and tridents. All are both a melee weapon, and a thrown weapon. Thats just the core rulebook - other books may have more.

In addition, any melee weapon could have the Throwing enchantment, so any melee weapon can be a thrown weapon as well.

Silver Crusade

Ah! I see what you mean!

This still leaves the problem that you don't have the returning weapon in hand until the instant before your next turn. It's available for use in that turn (your next turn), but not in the turn you threw it, after the point where you actually threw it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Returning Weapon Property question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.