Touch spell & grapple


Rules Questions


Hey guys, I got another one for you...

I have a player who is a rogue3/witch1 and who likes to grapple people.
Now we were looking at keeping a touch spell at the ready, making a touch attack and succeeding at a grapple.

Quote 1: wrote:
If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges.
Quote 2: wrote:
Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge.
Quote 3: wrote:
...to touch an opponent, you must succeed on an attack roll.
Quote 4: wrote:
As a standard action, you can attempt to grapple a foe...

_Processing_

So, what if the roguewitch cast a touchspel in round one, and in round two moves closer to the bandit.. He then wants to grapple the bandit. Situation A:
He succeeds at grappling the bandit.
>>> Does the spell automatically discharge since the "touched anyone while holding a charge"?

Situation B:
He fails the grapple. Does the spell linger?
Because it says nowhere that a failure to touch makes the spell dissappear, right?

I'm using the piggybank of dooom to ask for your two cents...
Will save to deny it? ;)

-----
Link:
http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/combat.html#holding-the-charge


Quote:

So, what if the roguewitch cast a touchspel in round one, and in round two moves closer to the bandit.. He then wants to grapple the bandit. Situation A:

He succeeds at grappling the bandit.
>>> Does the spell automatically discharge since the "touched anyone while holding a charge"?

Situation B:
He fails the grapple. Does the spell linger?
Because it says nowhere that a failure to touch makes the spell dissappear, right?

I'm using the piggybank of dooom to ask for your two cents...
Will save to deny it? ;)

-----
Link:
http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/combat.html#holding-the-charge

Holding a Charge:
Holding the Charge: If you don't discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates. You can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action. Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge. In this case, you aren't considered armed and you provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for the attack. If your unarmed attack or natural weapon attack normally doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack. If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges. If the attack misses, you are still holding the charge.

A grapple is a Combat Maneuver and is not "Covered under your Quote 2" which is about how to deliver the spell. You can make a melee touch attack or alternately use a melee attack [and gain unarmed damage] while delivering the attack. The only relevant point is "Touching the foe" which will happen if you succeed in a grapple. If you fail the grapple you have failed to touch your foe.


Rickmeister wrote:
Now we were looking at keeping a touch spell at the ready, making a touch attack and succeeding at a grapple.

Here's a FAQ Request thread for a similar question involving held charges and combat maneuvers.


Thanks a lot Grick ^^


What if you're holding a charge and something hits you with a natural weapon? Didn't you "unintentionally" touch someone?


martryn wrote:
What if you're holding a charge and something hits you with a natural weapon? Didn't you "unintentionally" touch someone?

You didn't touch them, they touched you.

The Spite spell does something similar, except it uses an extra 4th-level spell and 250gp per casting. (You can still cast other spells without losing it, but that's pretty terrible if you could just hold a charge and get basically the same effect.)


On your turn, if you're holding a spell and are being grappled, can you auto-discharge it, then? I've always read it that accidentally bumping into an end table would discharge a held spell. When it says touch, does it specifically mean with a limb, with your hand... what?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Touch spell & grapple All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.