What Action is it to pull a known item from an Ally's Haversack?


Rules Questions


The ally knows what item they want from their other ally's Haversack.

Target ally (with Haversack), is Conscious:

1) Standard Action (no AoO?)
2) Move Action (no AoO?)
3) Full-round Action
4) Steal Maneuver
5) Not possible

Target ally (with Haversack), is Unconcious

6) Standard Action (no AoO?)
7) Move Action (no AoO?)
8) Full-round Action

Grand Lodge

If the ally is wearing the haversack (presuming you capitalised it to indicate the magic item), it's not possible. The contents are in a closed extradimensional space and can only be reached by activating the item's magical effect.

If the acting character takes the haversack (move action, or a standard-action Steal if the wearer is not helpless and unwilling for him to have it), he is then the user of the haversack and can take out any item as a move action that doesn't provoke.

If you actually meant a mundane haversack, it would be a Steal at +5 DC if the target was unwilling, so it shouldn't be a greater action than that if the target is willing or unconscious. A standard action that provokes AoO sounds right.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook, Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
harmor wrote:

The ally knows what item they want from their other ally's Haversack.

Target ally (with Haversack), is Conscious:

1) Standard Action (no AoO?)
2) Move Action (no AoO?)
3) Full-round Action
4) Steal Maneuver
5) Not possible

Target ally (with Haversack), is Unconcious

6) Standard Action (no AoO?)
7) Move Action (no AoO?)
8) Full-round Action

There are no hard rules about this but I make it a move action with AoO if I was DMing.

Silver Crusade

REMEMBER: Politely asking first is a free action!

;)

Grand Lodge

Mikaze wrote:

REMEMBER: Politely asking first is a free action!

;)

So I have to wait until my turn?


blackbloodtroll wrote:
Mikaze wrote:

REMEMBER: Politely asking first is a free action!

;)

So I have to wait until my turn?

Speaking is the only free action that can be dont out of turn.

So you can ask (free) and the ally can answer (free) no matter who's turn it is.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Oh, text. How you relay sarcasm so well.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

[sarcasm] BBT, *THIS* is why you must either refrain from sarcasm or use sarcasm tags. [/sarcasm]

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Sarcastic use of sarcasm tags?

Touche' word master.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / What Action is it to pull a known item from an Ally's Haversack? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions