Stacking bonuses using traits


Rules Questions


I'm putting together a Tengu Rogue for Pathfinder Society play this afternoon. I selected Absalom Hotspur (+1 to initiative - regional trait) and Reactionary (+2 to initiative - combat trait) as my two traits.

Herolab is not giving me a +3 to initiative, I'm only getting a +2. Is there a rule against stacking two bonuses from traits?

If anyone knows, please respond. Thanks.

Sovereign Court

Trait bonuses do not stack...it is stated quite clearly in the rules...


I am not 100% sure on this, but it is probably that a +X bonus from a trait is considered a +X trait bonus, which means they would not stack (such as how enhancement bonuses and morale bonuses do not).

Edit: I took so long to hit post that I got ninja's. I also found the rules excerpt:

"Many traits grant a new type of bonus: a “trait” bonus. Trait bonuses do not stack—they’re intended to give player characters a slight edge, not a secret backdoor way to focus all of a character’s traits on one type of bonus and thus gain an unseemly advantage. It’s certainly possible, for example, that somewhere down the line, a “Courageous” trait might be on the list of dwarf race traits, but just because this trait is on both the dwarf race traits list and the basic combat traits list doesn’t mean you’re any more brave if you choose both versions than if you choose only one."

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Stacking bonuses using traits All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions