Animal companions and multiattack


Rules Questions


was looking at the multiattack feat that companion get at level 9.

An animal companion gains Multiattack as a bonus feat if it has three or more natural attacks and does not already have that feat. If it does not have the requisite three or more natural attacks, the animal companion instead gains a second attack with its primary natural weapon, albeit at a –5 penalty.

lets say my companion is a lion
they have 1 bite + 2 claws (all primary)

does that count for 3 natural attack, so i get nothing out of the feat , or does it count has 2 natural attack bite+claw, so i would get another bite attack at a -5

Grand Lodge

It has three natural attacks. It gets the feat, but doesn't benefit from it.


Yes, by RAW that's three attacks, sorry.

I don't think theres a situation where that lion would ever get those reduced to secondary. It's unlikely he'll attack with manufactured weapons after all.

If it's PFS you probably can't do anything about it, in a normal game just talk to your GM and ask if you can get that additional bite or claw attack. It's just one attack, not one with each weapon.

If he says no... well not every class feature is equally good for everyone.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Animal companions and multiattack All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.