| Quandary |
| 1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
Pseudodragon's Feat is Weapon Finesse.
Tiny and smaller creutures (including Pseudodragons) automatically get the benefits of Weapon Finesse.
Is this an oversight, and they are getting screwed by having a useless feat?
Or is it meant to be used if/when they Enlarge Person to Small Size?
BTW, how are non-standard reaches handled when you change size?
The Pseudodragon is Tiny but has 5' Reach Tail Stinger?
Is that just a 'normal' Reach Weapon, or what?
| hogarth |
Pseudodragon's Feat is Weapon Finesse.
Tiny and smaller creutures (including Pseudodragons) automatically get the benefits of Weapon Finesse.
Are you sure that's true in Pathfinder (as opposed to 3.5)? Note that cats, rats, hawks, monkeys, etc., etc. all have Weapon Finesse as their one feat as well.
| RuyanVe |
Weird. I could have sworn the extra reach is standard for any dragon - but actually it's their bite that has a higher reach put down in the stat blocks.
If you mean normal reach weapon as in natural greater reach (see Combat section of PRD under Big and Little Creatures in Combat), then I'd say yes: the little bugger can attack creatures in adjacent squares, but can also use the stinger to attack creatures within the same square it currently occupies.
Although the paragraph I quote below is written for the standard situation with creatures of at least medium size...
Unlike when someone uses a reach weapon, a creature with greater than normal natural reach (more than 5 feet) still threatens squares adjacent to it. A creature with greater than normal natural reach usually gets an attack of opportunity against you if you approach it, because you must enter and move within the range of its reach before you can attack it.
Emphasis mine.
Oh, and automatic use of DEX instead of STR for tiny or smaller creatures does only apply for calculation of their CMB.
FAQ'ed.
EDIT'ed as well.
Ruyan.
| Shalmdi |
Quandry, I cannot find the entry that says tiny creatures use their dexterity automatically. I remember that from somewhere, but I couldn't say where. Hogarth may be right, and it is just a 3.5 holdover.
As for the reach, you probably don't need to worry about it. Enlarge Person only works on humanoids and there is no Enlarge Monster equivalent to my knowledge. If you did increase its size somehow, I would rule that its reach increased just as it would for any other size change. Five would become 10. That however is just my two copper.
| hogarth |
Here:
http://paizo.com/forums/dmtz4ulp?A-recurring-error-with-CMB-and-Tiny-creatu res
The bonus to CMB I know about. But I don't think there's a blanket Weapon Finesse bonus.
| Are |
In 3.5, most (perhaps all) tiny or smaller creatures received Weapon Finesse as a bonus feat. For some reason Pathfinder removed that, in favor of giving those creatures Weapon Finesse as a regular feat instead.
I'm not sure why. It's not like Pseudodragons and Cats were broken by having Alertness/Stealthy (respectively) in addition to Weapon Finesse :)
| Quandary |
yeah...
i was having trouble finding rules for how reach weapons work for below Small creatures...
and for that matter how natural weapons with greater reach than others work, period.
for Small+ creatures, Reach Weapons double their Reach,
but when 'normal' Reach is ZERO, doubling doesn't work...
yet I can't find a rule that says there is a minimum +5',
the closest thing to that only applied to Small and larger creatures.
I'm not even sure if Tiny creatures with Reach weapons are supposed to normally threaten 5'.
My issue is whether or not there is any general rule to follow,
or if the Tail may be going by it's own rule, which could be something 'odd'
such as merely adding +5' to reach, which wouldn't scale up the same if Enlarged.
(similar to Whips which use a non-standard Reach formula)