Can multiple Breath of Lifes bring someone back if cast within 1 round of death?


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Or must it be a single one?


Breath of Life wrote:
...If cast upon a creature that has died within 1 round, apply the healing from this spell to the creature...

Even if the creature is not brought back to life, the healing is still applied; its hp total still changes. Multiple castings should be able to bring back a dead creature if all done within 1 round of the creature's death with enough total healing to bring the creature back to life between them.


Well that's an obscure question! And what The Elusive Jackalope said. So this is "ditto".


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Nice question!


Somewhat related, check out the resurrection subdomain in the apg for a nice 'combo' with breath of life.


It'd be nice to know if this was legal.


I'm pretty sure either James Jacobs and/or Jason Bulmahn specifically wrote about it (it's legal - pretty clear from RAW, as the Jackalope explains), I think it may have been at the same time when James Jacobs was responding to the idea of BoL being classed as a "Cure" spell (E.G. for spontaneous cleric casting, which he supports but JB didn't). I'm sure it would show up in one or the other of their post history.


Yeah I wish they changed the spell to "Cure Deadly Wounds" too.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can multiple Breath of Lifes bring someone back if cast within 1 round of death? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions