Double Weapons and Shields


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

I've read that you can use a double weapon in one hand and only use from one side of it (from the weapons page on the SRD: A creature wielding a double weapon in one hand can't use it as a double weapon—only one end of the weapon can be used in any given round). So, theoretically, could I have a character with a quarterstaff in one hand and a shield in the other?

This isn't for arcane bond and the annoyance of the word "wield", but for a cleric of Nethys with the Magic domain who wants to throw his staff around Wis mod+3 times per day while still benefiting from a shield via Hand of the Acolyte.

Anyone know if this is legit, or if it may have problems arise in PFS play? I know I could just use a club, but for thematic reasons I want a quarterstaff - each side of the staff will be carved differently to represent the dual positive/negative nature of Nethys.


Adam Ashworth wrote:
I've read that you can use a double weapon in one hand and only use from one side of it

As far as I know, that used to be the general understanding. Ultimate Magic changed all that with the Quarterstaff Master feat, and I think it was clarified that the text you're referencing just means that if you can wield a double weapon one handed for some reason, that doesn't mean you can still use it as a double weapon. (Dual wielding small dire flails, for instance)


Found it:

You cannot normally use a double weapon in one hand unless it is sized smaller than you. This feat allows you to get around that restriction.

Scarab Sages

Thank you!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Double Weapons and Shields All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.