Soul Forger / Bonded Witch


Rules Questions


What do you do if a character wants to be a magus/witch with the soul forger and bonded witch archetypes?

Do they get two arcane bonds? One bond that can cast any one magus spell per day and one limited witch spell from a list once a day?

The rules are not clear on multiple arcane bonds from different sources.

Dark Archive

I believe they would only have one bonded object.


Would they get the arcane bond benefit of both classes you think? Magus and Witch's 1 spell per day?

What about for a spellbook. Would the magus be able to memorize stored spells from the bonded item if they where on the Magus list?

Liberty's Edge

If it means anything, I asked James on the ask James about arcane bond in regards to 2 familiars, and he said you would got both, meaning 2 arcane bonds.

Now is that RAW? no. but He seemed pretty sure of himself when he answered.

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

As it's written, the two don't stack, however a wizard's bonded item specifically says it stacks with other class levels, so that you can't have a familiar and a bonded item both, and since the Magus and Witch bonded items are based on the Wizard one, I would rule that the levels would stack for determining item properties, but you'd get to use the item once to recall a witch spell and once to recall a magus spell each day.


Would a soul forger magus with bonded witch levels be allowed to memorize spells from his bonded item as long as they were also on the magus spell list?

Example, burning hands is a witch and magus spell and the bonded item functions as a spell book for the witch.

Liberty's Edge

cartmanbeck wrote:
As it's written, the two don't stack, however a wizard's bonded item specifically says it stacks with other class levels, so that you can't have a familiar and a bonded item both, and since the Magus and Witch bonded items are based on the Wizard one, I would rule that the levels would stack for determining item properties, but you'd get to use the item once to recall a witch spell and once to recall a magus spell each day.

There was quite the back and forth on this when someone was using an archtype that granted a familiar at 3rd level (Sorcerer: serpentine bloodline) and then taking Arcane Bond via another method, and it was not so cut and dry as you make it. In the end even James stated they would get the benefits from Arcane Bond, and the example used got 2 familiars as they received them from 2 different sources.

I was probably one of the most vocal nay sayers, but as written arcane bond doesn't say you can have it twice. So theres no written rules that back you up.


Well this is for a bonded object not for a familair. Familiars gain benefits as they level up. Bonded objects do not get anything no matter what level you are so there are no rules that I can see of what to do when you have bonded objects from multiple sources.

For familairs, there are tons of rules that show that the typical norm is to combine all the levels that grant a familair to determine its added abilities.

Actually now that I think of it, perhaps add the levels together to determine what level equivalent you are in regards to improving it with the quasi item creation feats you can apply to your bonded object only?

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

Carrion wrote:

Well this is for a bonded object not for a familair. Familiars gain benefits as they level up. Bonded objects do not get anything no matter what level you are so there are no rules that I can see of what to do when you have bonded objects from multiple sources.

For familairs, there are tons of rules that show that the typical norm is to combine all the levels that grant a familair to determine its added abilities.

Actually now that I think of it, perhaps add the levels together to determine what level equivalent you are in regards to improving it with the quasi item creation feats you can apply to your bonded object only?

Yeah, that's what I was thinking.


What about the spellbook?

Would a soul forger magus with bonded witch levels be allowed to memorize spells from his bonded item as long as they were also on the magus spell list?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Soul Forger / Bonded Witch All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.