Reach question


Rules Questions


Not sure if I am handling this correctly.
Scene
1 monster with 15ft reach, 3 squares including the one he is in?

When an PC moves to him and stops 2 squares, he is is attacked by attack of opportunity since the monster has reach?

What if the PC closes all the to the monster, either full move or charge. Does the monster get opportunity attack on the PC before he gets to him?


Vaas wrote:
1 monster with 15ft reach, 3 squares including the one he is in?

15' reach means three squares outside of it's own.

[M] [1] [2] [3]

M is Monster, 1 is 5' away, 2 is 10' away, 3 is 15' away.

Vaas wrote:
When an PC moves to him and stops 2 squares, he is is attacked by attack of opportunity since the monster has reach?

If a creature leaves a threatened square without taking a 5'step or withdraw action, it provokes an attack of opportunity.

Vaas wrote:
What if the PC closes all the to the monster, either full move or charge. Does the monster get opportunity attack on the PC before he gets to him?

As above, but note you only provoke once for movement. If a character attempts to leave square 3, in any direction, Monster can take an AoO. If the PC leaves square 3, then square 2, and ends his movement in square one, he only provokes once, even if the monster has combat reflexes. It's the Monster's choice to attack him in either square 3 or 2.


thanks

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Reach question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions