Am I allowed to polymorph any object twice for it to be permanent


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

If I cast 'polymorph any object' on an already existing object so that it turns into itself and is permanent?


I am 99.9999% sure the answer is going to be no, but give an example please.


Isn't there the restriction that you can only be under one poly effect at a time? Thus the no beastform and enlarge person?


Skylancer4 wrote:
Isn't there the restriction that you can only be under one poly effect at a time? Thus the no beastform and enlarge person?

Reading it again I think he is saying asking can you cast PaO on a human with the intent to change them into an elf, thereby making them an elf permanently since both are of the humanoid type.


Skylancer4 wrote:
Isn't there the restriction that you can only be under one poly effect at a time? Thus the no beastform and enlarge person?

Indeed there is. To quote the PF Core Rule Book, pg. 212:

"You can only be affected by one polymorph spell at a time. If a new polymorph spell is cast on you (or you activate a polymorph effect, such as wild shape), you can decide whether or not to allow it to affect you, taking the place of the old spell. In addition, other spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell."

In short only one polymorph, of any type, at a time.


concerro wrote:
Skylancer4 wrote:
Isn't there the restriction that you can only be under one poly effect at a time? Thus the no beastform and enlarge person?
Reading it again I think he is saying asking can you cast PaO on a human with the intent to change them into an elf, thereby making them an elf permanently since both are of the humanoid type.

:) I understood the question, I was giving a set of spells I knew didn't work but had the same mechanic. I figured it was in the school description but have the ability to check at the time of the post.


R_Chance wrote:
Skylancer4 wrote:
Isn't there the restriction that you can only be under one poly effect at a time? Thus the no beastform and enlarge person?

Indeed there is. To quote the PF Core Rule Book, pg. 212:

"You can only be affected by one polymorph spell at a time. If a new polymorph spell is cast on you (or you activate a polymorph effect, such as wild shape), you can decide whether or not to allow it to affect you, taking the place of the old spell. In addition, other spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell."

In short only one polymorph, of any type, at a time.

This gets a little tricky. Say a evil wizard casts Polymorph any Object onto you and you fail your saving through, thus you become a horse and will forever be stuck as a horse. BUT your party manages to kill the evil wizard and your party wizard decides to cast PaO on you to turn you back. The spell would fail because you cannot willingly choose to allow it to effect you by dropping the first one. You failed the saving throw on the first one so you do not have the option to drop it.

Yes I agree with you that only one polymorph effect at one time but with PaO if the change is permanent then it is no longer a polymorph effect, the new form becomes your "natural" form.


no. but permanent does not mean instant. A permanent effect can be dispelled. An instant effect happens then is no longer magical.

Edit: Just re-read the question. It's not really the thing it turns into. It's an ongoing magical effect. If the effect were instant that would be a different story.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Am I allowed to polymorph any object twice for it to be permanent All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions