Liveoak Triggering Phrase


Rules Questions


From Liveoak spell's text:

"This spell turns an oak tree into a protector or guardian. The spell can only be cast on a single tree at a time; while liveoak is in effect, you can't cast it again on another tree. Liveoak must be cast on a healthy, Huge oak. A triggering phrase of up to one word per caster level is placed on the targeted oak. The liveoak spell triggers the tree into animating as a treant."

Actually, I don't understand the purpose of that triggering phrase. What exactly is it supposed to trigger?


the triggering phrase allows you to put the spell on the tree and at any later time animate it with the phrase.


And what's the purpose of "one word per level"?

Other spells that make you decide a triggering word do not have such a feat (which is unnecessary, unless there's something I'm unable to see).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Liveoak Triggering Phrase All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions