Dirty Trick Question


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Can you use the Dirty Trick maneuver with a weapon?


Yes.
Cut a belt, Use the tip/blade to flash sand in the eyes, etc...

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

If you mean in such a way as to gain weapon-specific attack bonuses to the roll, then no. See this blog.


From that blog:
"For example, just because you have a +5 greatsword doesn’t mean it gives you a +5 bonus on dirty trick checks (Pathfinder RPG Advanced Player’s Guide 320), and just because you have a +5 dagger doesn’t mean it gives you a +5 bonus on grapple checks. Of course, the GM is free to rule that in certain circumstances, a creature can apply weapon bonuses for these maneuvers, such as when using a sap in a dirty trick maneuver to hit an opponent in a sensitive spot."

So, no by default, but situational exceptions based on GM approval and player creativity.


Ahh. I didn't think about whether the intent was to gain a game benefit. Sorry. As Jiggy says...

No you don't add weapon modifiers to your CMB in most cases. (as pointed out by COV).

Liberty's Edge

I didn't mean for adding the enhancement bonus from weapon (as I read only disarm, sunder, and trip can apply weapon enhancements, weapon focus, etc.) but rather if I could use a reach weapon to hit someone in the groin.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Dirty Trick Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.