Vampiric touch + natural attack


Rules Questions


I have searched the forum for clarification, perhaps you can help me out?

1. If I deliver Vampiric touch (e.g, 11 damage) as a part of a Bite attack ( e.g. 12 damage including strength), do I revieve 23 temporary HP?

2. If I have an amulet of mighty fists, adding 1D6 Fire, (e.g. 3 hp), are these added to the amount of HP?

3. If I have the Draconic Diciple ability that adds a D6 of elemental damage to my bite, e.g. 4 hp, type:acid, are these added to the temporary HP as well?

Thanks in advance :-)


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I would say no, since the vampirism is caused by the spell.

Quote:
If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges. If the attack misses, you are still holding the charge.

Note that the spell and the attack are separate in the rules for using a natural attack to deliver a touch spell. As such, the damage done by the attack and the effect of the spell are separate: it is not one single effect delivering (VT+natural attack) damage. It is two damaging effects occurring separately from a single attack roll.


No, no and no. You can deliver a touch spell with a natural or "normal" unarmed attack; then,

CRB p. 186 wrote:
If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges.

While the effects of the spell and the effect(s) of the attack are added together for purpose of determining damage dealt to the target, there is no implication here that the damage of the normal attack is considered a part of the damage of the spell.

So in your example, only the damage from Vampiric Touch is granted as temp HP.

Conversely, if the target has Spell Resistance, it might thereby ignore the effects of the VT spell but not the bite attack or the fire damage. Likewise, fire resistance would block or reduce the fire damage only.

However you can score a crit with VT delivered by natural weapon, in which case the doubled VT damage is granted as temp HP.


I think the confusion is from this line in Vampiric Touch's description:

"You gain temporary hit points equal to the damage you deal."

It says YOU DEAL, not what damage the SPELL DEALS.

I can see how it might be confusing, but I also agree that NO is the correct answer to all 3 questions.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Vampiric touch + natural attack All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions