Snapping turtle clutch and reach.


Rules Questions


Can a pc with

snapping turtle clutch:
Benefit: While you are using the Snapping Turtle Style feat, the shield bonus the style grants to your AC applies to your CMD and touch AC. Whenever an opponent misses you with a melee attack while you are using the Snapping Turtle Style feat, you can use an immediate action to attempt a grapple combat maneuver against that opponent, but with a –2 penalty.
starting a grapple against a reach attack?


Bump.

Sovereign Court

CRB wrote:
If you successfully grapple a creature that is not adjacent to you, move that creature to an adjacent open space (if no space is available, your grapple fails).


I have to use the "move" grapple action?

The Exchange

You can do it and you don't have to take the move action. The grappled person is moved next to you automatically.


This seems a little rife for abuse. A large character carries a huge whip and attacks at the end of his reach. Misses and the resulting grapple is a success, so a Large character is then pulled 45 ft?

It gets worse than that. A group needs to make a 30 ft climb across a chasm filled with lava. The monk climbs across the chasm, and a character with exotic weapon prof, has everyone grapple him, drinks enlarge person, equips a scorpion whip and attacks the monk. Bam a party crosses a chasm with nothing more than one persons climb, an enlarge person, and a scorpion whip.

Would these two scenarios work?


noneallowed wrote:

This seems a little rife for abuse. A large character carries a huge whip and attacks at the end of his reach. Misses and the resulting grapple is a success, so a Large character is then pulled 45 ft?

It gets worse than that. A group needs to make a 30 ft climb across a chasm filled with lava. The monk climbs across the chasm, and a character with exotic weapon prof, has everyone grapple him, drinks enlarge person, equips a scorpion whip and attacks the monk. Bam a party crosses a chasm with nothing more than one persons climb, an enlarge person, and a scorpion whip.

Would these two scenarios work?

When was the last time you ran into an enemy that was Large and carried a Huge whip? There are other ways to grapple foes that attack you with reach anyways, though I can't think of a way to do it without being a monk offhand.

Also, the second case wouldn't work. Each person would need to, as grappling doesn't work quite the way you're imagining it.

Shadow Lodge

Holy necro.

No, you would not be able to grapple a creature outside your reach because Turtle clutch does not override the threatened square rules

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Snapping turtle clutch and reach. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions