Spectral Hand


Rules Questions


I want to make sure that I am reading it right. If I cast Spectral Hand I can use it to cast Vampiric Touch, Bestow Curse and even Cure or Inflict Spells? What about spells from a wand?


Melee touch spells only, 4th level or lower (which you listed). No wands.


Is bestow curse considered a melee touch since to use it you have to touch?


Yes for bestow curse, also yes to Vamp touch and inflict for sure as well as Cure. Obviously only up to 4th level.

Wands however, are a maybe, since technically you aren't casting the spell with the wand one could interpret it to limit your ability to use spectral hand to deliver it.


The spell states a range and no specific starting point for the hand, but does it work like a familiar touching and they have to be in contact with you when you cast the spell you want it to deliver?

Dark Archive RPG Superstar 2013 Top 32

The spell states that it returns to you after delivering a spell and that it always strikes from your direction, so really, as long as the hand isn't currently delivering a spell, it is available for you to cast spells into. It's effectively in contact with you at all times unless it is actively delivering a spell.


That's what I thought, it also fails to list a speed which to me says it can deliver anywhere within the range of the spell. The question came up in a session awhile back so clarification would be nice.

Dark Archive RPG Superstar 2013 Top 32

RogueShadow3 wrote:
That's what I thought, it also fails to list a speed which to me says it can deliver anywhere within the range of the spell. The question came up in a session awhile back so clarification would be nice.

That is correct. The hand is able to move the entire distance of the spell's range, and back, in the same action as delivering the spell. Effectively, it just increases the spellcaster's reach with touch spells to equal the hand's range. The hand, however, does still provoke attacks of opportunity for moving through threatened squares on its journey. Against many foes, however, it should be immune to such retaliation.


Especially if I am flying when using it, lol.


Shalafi2412 wrote:
I want to make sure that I am reading it right. If I cast Spectral Hand I can use it to cast Vampiric Touch, Bestow Curse and even Cure or Inflict Spells? What about spells from a wand?

What about the temporary HP gained via Vampiric Touch? Do you get them when the Spectral Hand spell ends?


Soul Devourer wrote:
Shalafi2412 wrote:
I want to make sure that I am reading it right. If I cast Spectral Hand I can use it to cast Vampiric Touch, Bestow Curse and even Cure or Inflict Spells? What about spells from a wand?
What about the temporary HP gained via Vampiric Touch? Do you get them when the Spectral Hand spell ends?

As the actual caster you receive them immediately upon the hit as normal.


gnomersy wrote:
As the actual caster you receive them immediately upon the hit as normal.

Cool! Thank you very much!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spectral Hand All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.