Staves Question


Rules Questions


To recharge a staff, you have to use up a spell slot of the highest spell in the staff. What if the staff's spells have multiple levels?

To be specific, the Staff of Heaven and Earth has Control Winds which is either a 5th or 6th level spell.

I am playing a sorcerer who took Gust of Wind so he can recharge it, and use the non-sorc spells via UMD, but I just dont know what spell slot I expend.


5th. Control Winds is only a 6th level spell for casters with the Weather domain, and they "don't count".
There's a whole ranking system for the spells in magical items, based on what kind of caster might have put it there. First Wizard, then Cleric, Druid, Bard, etc. Clunky, quirky ways of getting a spell (like domains) come last. So the spell is of the level a Druid casts it, which is fifth.

And if that makes no sense whatsoever, it is because it makes no sense whatsoever.


VRMH wrote:
And if that makes no sense whatsoever, it is because it makes no sense whatsoever.

Unless you're one of those people that feels it does make sense, in which case you won't wonder why it make no sense whatsoever.

:P

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Staves Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions