
james knowles |

does the alchemist count as a spellcaster for purposes of prestige classes?
for example if a rogue 3/alchimist 4(who has learned mage hand from a wizards spellbook) wanted to take lvls in the arcane trickster prc, would he meet the spellcasting requirement of that prc?
the APG refers to extracts as spells in potion form, and they're even listed as being on the alchemist spell list (not extract list, or formula list).

Fredrik |

Wow, that's a tough question. My answer is no, and he couldn't have learned mage hand.
An extract is "cast" by drinking it, as if imbibing a potion—the effects of an extract exactly duplicate the spell upon which its formula is based, save that the spell always affects only the drinking alchemist.
An alchemist can study a wizard's spellbook to learn any formula that is equivalent to a spell the spellbook contains.
An alchemist's extracts are listed as formulae on pg. 32—not as spells—and there is no formula equivalent to mage hand. Furthermore, mage hand wouldn't work as a potion, since the drinker is the target (CRB, pg. 477); so it isn't even researchable.
As such, an alchemist is doubly foiled: unable to learn mage hand, and unable to cast spells. I really hate to have to say that, since I love opening up options—not closing them down. But your question was about the rules, and that's what they say.

Some Random Dood |

No, the alchemist is not considered a spellcaster, and does not qualify for anything that requires being able to cast a spell or a caster lv EXCEPT for crafting feats. Source

Pendin Fust |

@Some Random Dood
Further in that thread there's ANOTHER link to the Ask James Jacobs thread here. He seems to be implying that they consider the alchemist levels effectively as caster levels for everything.
But definitely for item creation feats :)

Dragonchess Player |

By strict RAW, an alchemist counts as a spellcaster for Brew Potions and spell-trigger items. RAI, an alchemist counts as a spellcaster for other item creation feats, as well.
However, since an "alchemist doesn't actually cast spells" (APG, pg 27), meeting the requirements for spellcasting prestige classes is problematical.

![]() |

Most PrCs do not have "caster level X", but rather "able to cast X level spells".
Alchemist do not cast spells. Even if an Alchemist takes feats that require "caster level X"(other than item creation feats), those feats would be useless, as they interact with a PCs ability to cast spells, which Alchemist do not.
For feats that require "caster level X" that do not interact with spellcasting, such as Improved Familiar, the Alchemist is free to take.