Shield Other / Unwilling Shield + typed damage


Rules Questions


Do the Shield Other and Unwilling Shield spells pass on the type of damage done? Or its nonlethality, should that be the case?

Scarab Sages

Do you mean like, if they were hit by a fireball, does the caster of Shield Other take fire damage?
It's a little vague in the spell description, I'd say it kind of comes down to GM fiat. I could easily see the argument going either way.
I personally would probably rule it that the damage is untyped damage since it's filtered through the spell, but the visual of your skin suddenly smoking and blistering when your ally gets hit by a fireball is cool enough to justify ruling it the other way.


Agreed, on all counts. I'm still curious though if anyone can think of a similar case where the rules are clearer, or even spelled out.

Liberty's Edge

sigh, this again. It has been discussed some week ago but the answer is fairly straightforward:

Shield Other wrote:


This spell wards the subject and creates a mystic connection between you and the subject so that some of its wounds are transferred to you.
Unwilling Shield wrote:


the target shares the wounds that you receive.

In both instances you get some of the wounds the protected character has received, not the kind of damage it has received.

It is not a cheap way to apply damage resistance multiple times.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Shield Other / Unwilling Shield + typed damage All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions