Rod of Absorption - Choose to Use?


Rules Questions

Lantern Lodge

Using the rod of absorption is listed as 'requires no action on the part of the user' when it absorbs. Can the PC choose not to absorb a spell? Such as a beneficial spell, or a minor spell? Or would the PC need to put away the rod for the chosen spell to affect him?

The same goes for an ioun stone that absorbs spells as a rod (whether it is in orbit around the PC's head, or in a wayfinder).

Grand Lodge

You can choose to absorb with the rod. The ioun stone however, is automatic. The only way to stop it is to take it off.

Lantern Lodge

LazarX wrote:
You can choose to absorb with the rod. The ioun stone however, is automatic. The only way to stop it is to take it off.

Why do you say that? The main rules list that for the ioun stone to work, you have to use a readied action. However, since the stone lists the rod of absorption as a reference to how it works, I was curious how the rod itself works.

Grand Lodge

evilaustintom wrote:
LazarX wrote:
You can choose to absorb with the rod. The ioun stone however, is automatic. The only way to stop it is to take it off.
Why do you say that? The main rules list that for the ioun stone to work, you have to use a readied action. However, since the stone lists the rod of absorption as a reference to how it works, I was curious how the rod itself works.

Link it and show me.

Lantern Lodge

LazarX wrote:
evilaustintom wrote:
LazarX wrote:
You can choose to absorb with the rod. The ioun stone however, is automatic. The only way to stop it is to take it off.
Why do you say that? The main rules list that for the ioun stone to work, you have to use a readied action. However, since the stone lists the rod of absorption as a reference to how it works, I was curious how the rod itself works.
Link it and show me.

Hrm. I'm not seeing it in the SRD docs. However, in my Pathfinder Core Rulebook hard copy, it says on page 520, bottom right corner last paragraph, "...The pale lavender and lavender-and-green stones work like a rod of absorption, but absorbing a spell requires a readied action, and these stones can be used to empower spells..."

I'm wondering if that section got erattaed, since it's not in the SRD. Or are my search abilities lacking today?

Dark Archive

Rod Of Absorption

Rod of Absorption:

Aura strong abjuration; CL 15th

Slot none; Price 50,000 gp; Weight 5 lbs.

Description

This rod absorbs spells or spell-like abilities into itself. The magic absorbed must be a single-target spell or a ray directed at either the character holding the rod or her gear. The rod then nullifies the spell's effect and stores its potential until the wielder releases this energy in the form of spells of her own. She can instantly detect a spell's level as the rod absorbs that spell's energy. Absorption requires no action on the part of the user if the rod is in hand at the time.

A running total of absorbed (and used) spell levels should be kept. The wielder of the rod can use captured spell energy to cast any spell she has prepared, without expending the preparation itself. The only restrictions are that the levels of spell energy stored in the rod must be equal to or greater than the level of the spell the wielder wants to cast, that any material components required for the spell be present, and that the rod be in hand when casting. For casters such as bards or sorcerers who do not prepare spells, the rod's energy can be used to cast any spell of the appropriate level or levels that they know.

A rod of absorption absorbs a maximum of 50 spell levels and can thereafter only discharge any remaining potential it might have. The rod cannot be recharged. The wielder knows the rod's remaining absorbing potential and current amount of stored energy.

To determine the absorption potential remaining in a newly found rod, roll d% and divide the result by 2. Then roll d% again: on a result of 71–100, half the levels already absorbed by the rod are still stored within.

Construction

Requirements Craft Rod, spell turning; Cost 25,000 gp

Ioun Stones

Ioun Stones, below the table in the description:
The pale lavender and lavender-and-green stones work like a rod of absorption, but absorbing a spell requires a readied action, and these stones cannot be used to empower spells.

From what I read, if you have the rod in hand, it absorbs all spells that fit the following :"single-target spell or a ray directed at either the character holding the rod or her gear."

While the Ioun Stone does state it requires a readied action to work.


Definitely no choice on the rod.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Rod of Absorption - Choose to Use? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.