Question about Snapdragon Fireworks spell


Rules Questions


The spell description states the following:

Casting time: 1 standard action
Once per round, as a move action, you may designate a target 5-foot-square within range and launch a pyrotechnic in that direction.

In the first round when I cast this, if I want to use the spell, can I move at all, because it eats up my move action?

During the following rounds, can I take a standard action or another move action while concentrating on this spell?

Can I cast another spell while concentrating on this one, because it only takes a move action to execute?


If you want to fire a missile the same round you cast the spell you will indeed consume both your standard and move action.

Yes, you can make any combination of move and standard actions as normal, including firing a missile and casting another spell.


hargoyle wrote:


Can I cast another spell while concentrating on this one, because it only takes a move action to execute?

Just to clarify, snapdragon fireworks has a 1 round/lvl duration and doesn't require concentration. You simply have the option of firing off a firework each round as a move action.


WRoy wrote:
hargoyle wrote:


Can I cast another spell while concentrating on this one, because it only takes a move action to execute?
Just to clarify, snapdragon fireworks has a 1 round/lvl duration and doesn't require concentration. You simply have the option of firing off a firework each round as a move action.

Oh, that's right! Thanks for pointing it out!


Combine with dazing spell for a nice bit of battlefield control ;)


It's definitely a nice spell. How else can you get off three attacks with the same spell at level 2?

Round 1: Cast Spell(standard action), attack with spell(move action)
Round 2: Attack with spell(move action), attack with spell again(second move action)

Edit: Nevermind, you can only do the attack once per round. So unless you can use your standard action to make the attack too...


Azten wrote:

It's definitely a nice spell. How else can you get off three attacks with the same spell at level 2?

Round 1: Cast Spell(standard action), attack with spell(move action)
Round 2: Attack with spell(move action), attack with spell again(second move action)

Once per round.


Azten wrote:

It's definitely a nice spell. How else can you get off three attacks with the same spell at level 2?

Round 1: Cast Spell(standard action), attack with spell(move action)
Round 2: Attack with spell(move action), attack with spell again(second move action)

Edit: Nevermind, you can only do the attack once per round. So unless you can use your standard action to make the attack too...

Nope, it says 1/rd. So you can't do it twice/rd (unless you cast the spell a second time).


I like the spell because it can deal damage to swarms without affecting a big area.


Now does this mean that you can cast a spell on round 2 and use this as a move action ex.

Wizard level 2:

Round 1: cast Snapdragon Fireworks, use move phase to hit opponents end turn.

Round 2: Cast fireball, use move phase to hit opponents with Snapdragon Fireworks end turn

To cast the fireball do you have to make a concentration check and if so what DC would it be?

I'm thinking that the spell conjures the fireworks the first round and you can only launch once per round as a move phase but after that they stay until sent off... Am I right on this assumption?

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Why would there be a concentration check? Having a spell active does not inherently interfere with other spellcasting.


Thanks then my plan as a battle field controller can go through as scheduled!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question about Snapdragon Fireworks spell All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions