Possibly dumb beast shape question


Rules Questions


So my Magus just got lvl 7 and my group briefly tangled with some under water hag the group is re grouping and I had picked beast shape 1 as one of my 3rd level spells.

So I know that beast shape etc gives you exactly what it says it does and so wanted to clarify something.

First, the first two rules I don't think will actually be an issue witon my DM but I figured I would get the technical details clear.

Anyhow I understand the aquatic subtype is what actually let's creatures breath under water so it looks like if I turn into a shark I technically cannot breath under water.

As well, I noticed There are no actual medium sized sharks in the book. I'm guessing This technically means I cannot turn into one.

Anyhow, I don't think my dm will object to a medium sized shark breathing water. But I wanted to know what the rules were.


Meh and put this in the wrong sub forum.


"Polymorph: a polymorph spell transforms your physical body to take on the shape of another creature. While these spells make you appear to be the creature, granting you a +10 bonus on Disguise skill checks, they do not grant you all of the abilities and powers of the creature. Each polymorph spell allows you to assume the form of a creature of a specific type, granting you a number of bonuses to your ability scores and a bonus to your natural armor. In addition, each polymorph spell can grant you a number of other benefits, including movement types, resistances, and senses. If the form you choose grants these benefits, or a greater ability of the same type, you gain the listed benefit. If the form grants a lesser ability of the same type, you gain the lesser ability instead. Your base speed changes to match that of the form you assume. If the form grants a swim or burrow speed, you maintain the ability to breathe if you are swimming or burrowing. The DC for any of these abilities equals your DC for the polymorph spell used to change you into that form."

While the bolded part doesn't say explicitly that you can breathe underwater that seems the only sensible explanation.


Meh I feel silly now, I forgot to re-read polymoh rules. Thank you it makes more sense now.


Squid or octopus is the preferred swimming form anyway. Many natural attacks is preferable to 1 natural attack.


Interestingly, that means that a druid polymorphed into a dolphin or dire rat can breathe underwater, even though dolphins and dire rats can't.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Possibly dumb beast shape question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions