Unarmed Attacks and Cestus / Spiked Gauntlets / Brass Knuckles


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Does the use of Cestus/Spiked Gauntlets/Brass Knuckles still count as unarmed attacks for purposes of abilities like Flurry of Blows? The text seems ambiguous" while it doesn't list these weapons under Flurry of Blows, the individual weapon entries seem to indicate that they modify Unarmed Strike (which IS included). Thoughts?


If they aren't listed as monk weapons or spelled out to work with FoB in the most recent printing/errata/FAQ, no it doesn't work. Monks aren't the only class to use unarmed strikes so just because they reference them, doesn't mean they work with FoB or other monk abilities.


"While wearing a cestus, you are considered armed and your unarmed attacks deal normal damage. If you are proficient with a cestus, your unarmed strikes may deal bludgeoning or piercing damage. Monks are proficient with the cestus."

The Cestus is considered a Monk weapon, so [i]should[/i' be listed under FoB, but strangely isn't....the others I'm still unsure, yet less concerned about

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

The cestus was printed after the monk, so it will never appear in the class description of the monk.

Grand Lodge

Note: There are no "unarmed" weapons other than the unarmed strike.
All "unarmed" weapons have been errata'd to simply be light weapons.
If you want to do a monk's unarmed strike damage, you will need to use your actual unarmed strike.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Unarmed Attacks and Cestus / Spiked Gauntlets / Brass Knuckles All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.