Witch nails hex


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Another hex question.

Nails hex, Ultimate Magic wrote:
Nails (Ex): The witch's nails are long and sharp, and count as natural weapons that deal 1d3 points of damage (1d2 for a Small witch). These attacks are secondary attacks. If trimmed, the witch's nails regrow to their normal size in 1d4 days.

So they're a secondary attack. Do they follow all the normal rules for secondary attacks? That is, are they considered primary attacks if a witch were to only use them in a round (since they'd be their only type of natural attack)? Or is this an exception and they're ALWAYS considered secondary attacks, even if not used in conjunction with a weapon?


They follow the normal rules


Just imagine they were added to the current table of natural attacks.

Witch Claws ... 1d2 / 1d3 ... Secondary Attack

So... As long as you only attack with the claws, you get full BAB and get full strength bonus to damage. If, on the other hand, you also attack with a weapon of any sort (or even another natural attack, like a bite), then the claws suffer -5 to attack and only get half-strength bonus to damage.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Witch nails hex All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions