| Lobolusk |
SO normally I play a 8th/level 2 pally level Mysterious Stranger with a dbl barreled pistol.
Recently I Picked up a +1 Musket I am going to take Rapid Reload (musket) This level possibly. with this and Alchenmical Cartridges it will reduce it to a move action.
a few Questions
if I take a full round action can I only fire once correct? with Rapid shot I cant fire/reload/fire. correct because it is a move action.
can I use the musket with deadly aim and rapid shot with the Dead Shot Deed.
FallofCamelot
|
First question: No. Rapid shot requires a full attack action so you can't use it (or iterative attacks) with a musket.
Second question: Yes you can use deadly aim. As for rapid shot, last time I checked the jury was out on this one. I haven't seen any official clarification or errata on the subject. My guy feeling is that no, you can't use rapid shot but I may be wrong.
| Lobolusk |
First question: No. Rapid shot requires a full attack action so you can't use it (or iterative attacks) with a musket.
Second question: Yes you can use deadly aim. As for rapid shot, last time I checked the jury was out on this one. I haven't seen any official clarification or errata on the subject. My guy feeling is that no, you can't use rapid shot but I may be wrong.
so I cant use one of my iterative attacks to reload correct?
| Grick |
if I take a full round action can I only fire once correct?
A full round action to do what?
with Rapid shot I cant fire/reload/fire. correct because it is a move action.
Rapid Shot requires a full attack. If you use a full round action to full attack, you cannot also take a move action to reload.
can I use the musket with deadly aim and rapid shot with the Dead Shot Deed.
Deadly Aim applies to all ranged attacks made after you've chosen to use it, until the beginning of your next turn. It's exactly like Power Attack for Ranged weapons.
Rapid Shot gives you an extra attack when you full attack. You must be otherwise able to take this attack.
Dead Shot (Ex) is a full round action, and thus cannot be used with any other full round actions, such as a full attack. When you hit multiple times with Dead Shot, you only apply weapon dice, not damage bonuses, so if you use Deadly Aim with Dead Shot, you will only get the bonus damage once, regardless of how many attack rolls hit.
so I cant use one of my iterative attacks to reload correct?
Do you have some kind of ability that lets you reload in place of an attack? If not, then no, you can't.
| Grick |
If your BAB is +6 or higher, you could do the following:
Hold musket in one hand, pistol in the other.
Full round action to full attack, activate deadly aim, use rapid shot.
Make iterative attacks with the pistol (+6/+1) then drop the pistol and put both hands on the musket and make your rapid shot attack with the musket.
(This relies on your DM ruling that firing each barrel independently "as a separate action" doesn't really mean separate action, but separate attack, which makes more sense.)
| Lobolusk |
Lobolusk wrote:if I take a full round action can I only fire once correct?A full round action to do what?
Lobolusk wrote:with Rapid shot I cant fire/reload/fire. correct because it is a move action.Rapid Shot requires a full attack. If you use a full round action to full attack, you cannot also take a move action to reload.
Lobolusk wrote:can I use the musket with deadly aim and rapid shot with the Dead Shot Deed.Deadly Aim applies to all ranged attacks made after you've chosen to use it, until the beginning of your next turn. It's exactly like Power Attack for Ranged weapons.
Rapid Shot gives you an extra attack when you full attack. You must be otherwise able to take this attack.
Dead Shot (Ex) is a full round action, and thus cannot be used with any other full round actions, such as a full attack. When you hit multiple times with Dead Shot, you only apply weapon dice, not damage bonuses, so if you use Deadly Aim with Dead Shot, you will only get the bonus damage once, regardless of how many attack rolls hit.
Lobolusk wrote:so I cant use one of my iterative attacks to reload correct?Do you have some kind of ability that lets you reload in place of an attack? If not, then no, you can't.
no I dont have that ability that was why I was asking. are you saying I cant use Rapid Shot with Dead shot because a full round action and a full round attack are different? even though dead shot reads like a full round attack? out of all the posters Grick you are the most Rules as Exactly Written kind of guy so I appreciate your opinion.
| Grick |
no I dont have that ability that was why I was asking.
I wasn't being snarky, I was genuinely asking. Without an ability that says otherwise, you can't exchange attacks for other actions.
You can exchange an entire standard action for a move action, for example to reload two guns, but not if you've used that standard action to attack, and not if you've used both your standard and move to perform a full-round action.
(Action Types: "You can always take a move action in place of a standard action.")
are you saying I cant use Rapid Shot with Dead shot because a full round action and a full round attack are different?
Correct. Every full attack is a full-round action.
Not every full-round action is a full attack.
Meaning you can take a full-round action to do any one of the following:
Charge, full attack, Escape from a net, Light a torch, Run, spontaneously cast a standard action spell modified by a metamagic feat, or use the Dead Shot deed.
Those are all full-round actions, and you can only perform one full-round action per turn. (Barring weirdness like Time Stop)
even though dead shot reads like a full round attack?
It is similar to a full attack, it even says you make the attack rolls in order as if [you] were making a full attack, but that doesn't mean it is a full attack.
| Lobolusk |
Lobolusk wrote:no I dont have that ability that was why I was asking.I wasn't being snarky, I was genuinely asking. Without an ability that says otherwise, you can't exchange attacks for other actions.
You can exchange an entire standard action for a move action, for example to reload two guns, but not if you've used that standard action to attack, and not if you've used both your standard and move to perform a full-round action.
(Action Types: "You can always take a move action in place of a standard action.")
Lobolusk wrote:are you saying I cant use Rapid Shot with Dead shot because a full round action and a full round attack are different?Correct. Every full attack is a full-round action.
Not every full-round action is a full attack.
Meaning you can take a full-round action to do any one of the following:
Charge, full attack, Escape from a net, Light a torch, Run, spontaneously cast a standard action spell modified by a metamagic feat, or use the Dead Shot deed.Those are all full-round actions, and you can only perform one full-round action per turn. (Barring weirdness like Time Stop)
Lobolusk wrote:even though dead shot reads like a full round attack?It is similar to a full attack, it even says you make the attack rolls in order as if [you] were making a full attack, but that doesn't mean it is a full attack.
one more question what about focused aim? it says you can add it to each die roll correct?
| Grick |
one more question what about focused aim? it says you can add it to each die roll correct?
Focused Aim (Ex): "At 1st level, as a swift action, the mysterious stranger can spend 1 grit point to gain a bonus on all firearm damage rolls equal to her Charisma modifier (minimum 1) with all firearm attacks she makes until the end of her turn. At 7th level, when she uses the dead shot deed, she multiplies this bonus by the number of hits she made while rolling the Dead Shot attack."