| setzer9999 |
If the whirlwind's base touches the ground, it creates a swirling cloud of debris. This cloud is centered on the creature and has a diameter equal to half the whirlwind's height. The cloud obscures all vision, including darkvision, beyond 5 feet. Creatures 5 feet away have concealment, while those farther away have total concealment. Those caught in the cloud of debris must succeed on a concentration check (DC 15 + spell level) to cast a spell.
How would I measure that diameter? Most area effects are measured from corners, but this is measured as "centered on the creature".
If that were a 10ft tall whirlwind, would that mean that only the square the whirlwind is currently in is affected? Yes, I know the difference between diameter and radius, I'm just curious then, the whirlwind must be 20ft tall before it obscures anything outside the square where the whirlwind creature currently is correct?
Even then... how do you handle this? if it is centered on the creature, not a grid intersection, how do you deal with the fact that it still doesn't fully encompass any squares?
Not sure how to measure this one out on the grid.
| setzer9999 |
Actually, bumping but also just reconsider the thread title of this as "Whirlwind Questions"... things have gotten so crazy in an encounter in my game that I had to stop the action to try to sort this out (it's ok, it was about stopping time anyway).
Ok... so what I have here is a large water elemental that has made itself 15ft tall as a whirlwind. It has succeeded in picking up 3 medium creatures, as its volume is that of 3 5foot cubes and they all failed their Reflex throws for being picked up (in addition to the ones they may have failed/succeeded on for damage respectively).
So, now, the whirlwind is touching the ground too, which, given its height, though my question is unanswered above, should mean that there really is only concealment for creatures that are caught in the whirlwind if the creatures are not adjacent to the whirlwind square is my best guess.
Further, it says that the creatures can act normally but must concentrate to cast a spell... I find this kind of ridiculous... how are you going to attack normally if you are held bodily up by the wirlwind... but anyway... they can attack at a -2 attack and have a -4 dex.
Here are the questions... can all three of these creatures attack the elemental that has them suspended to try to kill the elemental that has them suspended? They can attack creatures in adjacent squares, just at a reduction to attack rolls?
Can the elemental decide which cube it is holding which of the creatures in? Meaning, it decides creature A is in the bottom cube that is adjacent to the ground, and creature B is in the middle cube, and creature C is in the top cube... this actually becomes relevant because the elemental would like to keep the most dangerous creature suspended up the highest so that it would be unable to attack the elemental's allies.
What the heck is going on here? I am just at a loss for how insane this situation is and not sure how to rule on multiple points.
Edit: and oh yeah... can creatures in the condition of being caught in the whirlwind make attacks of opportunity? WTH...
Taenia
|
Whirlwind does not change any conditions of the creature, you aren't incorporeal, gaseous or anything.
This means that other than the conditions listed, creatures inside you can make full attacks, combat maneuvers, cast spells or do anything they normally can with the exception as listed in the whirlwind ability.
This means that once a nonflying creature is suspended it cannot get out and continues to take damage each round. This becomes extremely interesting when you bring certain maneuvers into play including grapple, such as, a creature in a whirlwind can't move nor can a creature that is grappled...
Based on what they published on mythic elementals it suggests that when you drop someone out of a whirlwind it's at the lowest point.