| xanthemann |
It is stated if you have certain feats a character without magic can craft magic items. It could be armor, weapons or other items.
What I can't seem to find is how and what. I see you have to take Master Craftsman, and then one of the Craft Magic feats...no explanation of what spells you can craft into it or how...
Does anyone know where this is referenced and or the how and what?
| Kobold Catgirl |
The feat Master Craftsman explains what you have to do. You cannot craft spells into it, because you need to be able to cast the spells in order to place them. You should be able to give armor and weapons enhancement bonuses, though, and possibly other enchantments. There may also be other techniques.
| xanthemann |
The feat Master Craftsman explains what you have to do. You cannot craft spells into it, because you need to be able to cast the spells in order to place them. You should be able to give armor and weapons enhancement bonuses, though, and possibly other enchantments. There may also be other techniques.
It is the other enchantments I have questions about. I have heard things like a shield of returning, as an example, or at least flying. Where are these techniques?
| Pirate |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Yar.
The second paragraph of the Magic Item Creation section states:
Note that all items have prerequisites in their descriptions. These prerequisites must be met for the item to be created. Most of the time, they take the form of spells that must be known by the item's creator (although access through another magic item or spellcaster is allowed). The DC to create a magic item increases by +5 for each prerequisite the caster does not meet. The only exception to this is the requisite item creation feat, which is mandatory. In addition, you cannot create potions, spell-trigger, or spell-completion magic items without meeting their spell prerequisites.
So a non-caster with Master Craftsman (and the required Item Creation Feat) can craft anything a caster can, it's just more difficult (+5 DC per prereq he doesn't meet), with the exception being he cannot create spell-trigger or spell-completion items. (I didn't include Potions because you need the Brew Potion feat for that, which a Master Craftsman cannot get without being a spallcaster as well anyways).
EDIT: The Master Craftsman feat says just as much.
You can create magic items using these feats, substituting your ranks in the chosen skill for your total caster level. You must use the chosen skill for the check to create the item. The DC to create the item still increases for any necessary spell requirements (see the magic item creation rules in Magic Items). You cannot use this feat to create any spell-trigger or spell-activation item.
So, quite simply, every spell prereq in an items description simply adds +5 to the creation DC. Doesn't matter if you don't know it, you can craft it by increasing the DC by +5 per prereq you do not have. For the Master Craftsman, this means every individual spell prereq increases the DC to create it by +5 each. You then roll your skill check against the increased DC and BAM! New magic item created by a non-caster.
~P
| xanthemann |
Yar.
The second paragraph of the Magic Item Creation section states:
Magic Item Creation wrote:Note that all items have prerequisites in their descriptions. These prerequisites must be met for the item to be created. Most of the time, they take the form of spells that must be known by the item's creator (although access through another magic item or spellcaster is allowed). The DC to create a magic item increases by +5 for each prerequisite the caster does not meet. The only exception to this is the requisite item creation feat, which is mandatory. In addition, you cannot create potions, spell-trigger, or spell-completion magic items without meeting their spell prerequisites.So a non-caster with Master Craftsman (and the required Item Creation Feat) can craft anything a caster can, it's just more difficult (+5 DC per prereq he doesn't meet), with the exception being he cannot create spell-trigger or spell-completion items. (I didn't include Potions because you need the Brew Potion feat for that, which a Master Craftsman cannot get without being a spallcaster as well anyways).
EDIT: The Master Craftsman feat says just as much.
Master Craftsman wrote:You can create magic items using these feats, substituting your ranks in the chosen skill for your total caster level. You must use the chosen skill for the check to create the item. The DC to create the item still increases for any necessary spell requirements (see the magic item creation rules in Magic Items). You cannot use this feat to create any spell-trigger or spell-activation item.So, quite simply, every spell prereq in an items description simply adds +5 to the creation DC. Doesn't matter if you don't know it, you can craft it by increasing the DC by +5 per prereq you do not have. For the Master Craftsman, this means every individual spell prereq increases the DC to...
Ah ha! Thank you! I overlooked this.