| Darkbridger |
I have a player that is creating a Cleric of Desna. He wants to wield a Starknife made for a Large sized character (dealing 1d6) as a one handed melee weapon (as opposed to a light melee weapon). Per the rules he can do so, but still takes a -2 penalty on attack rolls, which is where he is arguing. We have different interpretations of the second paragraph on page 144. Would it be reasonable to allow him to take a feat to wield such a weapon (exotic, martial, it doesn't matter) without the -2 penalty?
I'm not sure he'll burn a feat to effectively wield what is essentially a Hand Axe (weighing twice as much), but it is the only option I can think of. Even with a penalty, I would assume it would still be considered a Starknife and he is proficient with it (no further -4 penalty)... he just wants a main hand Starknife <shrug>.
| Brotato |
Inappropriately Sized Weapons: A creature can't make optimum use of a weapon that isn't properly sized for it. A cumulative –2 penalty applies on attack rolls for each size category of difference between the size of its intended wielder and the size of its actual wielder. If the creature isn't proficient with the weapon, a –4 nonproficiency penalty also applies.
It's pretty cut and dry. He wants to use a large starknife, he's got to eat a -2.