| Scrogz |
I am not sure I understand how DR works....
If a creature has DR10/evil.....
1) Would an attack from a creature that is considerd to typically be "evil", like a ghoul or a troll, bypass DR?
2) What abut a summoned creature with a Fiendish Template?
3) Does the attack need to specifically be listed as an "Evil" aligned attack?
Just trying to better understand as this is coming up more and more often in our game and I want to be sure I really understand the rule.
| Scrogz |
So, a Demon (which has the Evil Subtype) picks up a sword and uses it against the creature. The "evil" subtype does not transfer to the weapon but only applies to natural attacks correct?
A better example would be a Paladin swinging a sword I guess, but I guess I already know the answer to that.
Thanks =)
| Cheapy |
Some monsters are vulnerable to good-, evil-, chaotically, or lawfully aligned weapons. When a cleric casts align weapon, affected weapons might gain one or more of these properties, and certain magic weapons have these properties as well. A creature with an alignment subtype (chaotic, evil, good, or lawful) can overcome this type of damage reduction with its natural weapons and weapons it wields as if the weapons or natural weapons had an alignment (or alignments) that matched the subtype(s) of the creature.
A paladin doesn't automatically count as good-aligned weapons, unless they gained the (good) subtype...or they have an ability that says they do...
Your alignment doesn't grant you that alignment's subtype. You can be NG without having the (good) subtype.