Summoners and unconscious Eidolon


Rules Questions


Hi all!

I have a player that will be rolling a summoner in my game.

he is having second thoughts about it because when the Eidolon goes down under 0 hp but does not die, it does not vanish.

Therefore, the summoner cannot use his spell-like ability to summon a creature as long as his Eidolon lies there and bleeds in the prime-material plane.

Is our interpretation correct?

Also, can use simply cas a "summon monster" spell if you have your Eidolon summoned with the ritual?

Thank you,

RW


Redwidow wrote:

Hi all!

I have a player that will be rolling a summoner in my game.

he is having second thoughts about it because when the Eidolon goes down under 0 hp but does not die, it does not vanish.

Therefore, the summoner cannot use his spell-like ability to summon a creature as long as his Eidolon lies there and bleeds in the prime-material plane.

Is our interpretation correct?

Also, can use simply cas a "summon monster" spell if you have your Eidolon summoned with the ritual?

Thank you,

RW

It is true that the eidolon won't be dismissed until it actually 'dies', but then still prevents the summoner from using other summoner spells. What I did to deal with this is I had my eidolon take the Diehard feat so that it could keep on fighting until it reaches -CON hit points.


Redwidow wrote:


Also, can use simply cas a "summon monster" spell if you have your Eidolon summoned with the ritual?

Yes, the summoner can still use normal summon monster spells when the Eidolon is present, but they use the normal duration for the spells.


He can dismiss the Eidolon as a standard action :)

Yes, you can use that spell.

Liberty's Edge

HaraldKlak wrote:
Redwidow wrote:


Also, can use simply cas a "summon monster" spell if you have your Eidolon summoned with the ritual?
Yes, the summoner can still use normal summon monster spells when the Eidolon is present, but they use the normal duration for the spells.

... if he knows the spell. Not all summoners choose to learn the Summon Monster spells, intending to rely on the SLA. A Master Summoner can use the SLA when his eidolon is present.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Summoners and unconscious Eidolon All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions