| Sylentenigma |
spell strike is as worded
(At 2nd level, whenever a magus casts a spell with a range of “touch” from the magus spell list, he can deliver the spell through any weapon he is wielding as part of a melee attack. Instead of the free melee touch attack normally allowed to deliver the spell, a magus can make one free melee attack with his weapon (at his highest base attack bonus) as part of casting this spell. If successful, this melee attack deals its normal damage as well as the effects of the spell. If the magus makes this attack in concert with spell combat, this melee attack takes all the penalties accrued by spell combat melee attacks. This attack uses the weapon’s critical range (20, 19–20, or 18–20 and modified by the keen weapon property or similar effects), but the spell effect only deals ×2 damage on a successful critical hit, while the weapon damage uses its own critical modifier.
as stated above spells are used like a second weapon. If i deliver a touch attack i get a free weapon strike to deliver that spell with.
with a quickened spell would that indicate that i get an extra weapon strike with each as long as both spells are touch spells.
i come to this conclusion because i understand this (a magus can make one free melee attack with his weapon (at his highest base attack bonus) as part of casting this spell) to mean that only one bonus attack is granted per spell, not that only one bonus attack is granted regardless of how many spells there are.
thoughts thank you
| Grick |
If i deliver a touch attack i get a free weapon strike to deliver that spell with.
The round you cast a touch spell, you can deliver that spell as a free action. Spellstrike lets you deliver that spell with your weapon, rather than with a touch.
with a quickened spell would that indicate that i get an extra weapon strike with each as long as both spells are touch spells.
The round you cast a quickened touch spell, you can deliver that spell as a free action. Spellstrike lets you deliver that spell with your weapon, rather than with a touch.
For example, if you cast Shocking Grasp as a standard action, you can either use a free action to touch someone, or make a normal weapon attack against normal AC. If you hit, you discharge the spell (and deal weapon damage, if you chose to use Spellstrike).
That same round you could also cast Quickened Shocking Grasp as a swift action. Again, you can either use a free action to touch someone, or make a normal weapon attack against normal AC. If you hit, you discharge the spell (and deal weapon damage, if you chose to use Spellstrike).
You get the same number of attacks you normally would. The only thing Spellstrike does is let you deliver it with your weapon, rather than with a touch or unarmed strike or natural attack.
You may find this guide to be informative.
| Grick |
Also note: Normally, if you cast a touch spell and miss (or choose not to attack) you can hold the charge.
Casting a spell while holding a charge causes the held charge to dissipate.
It's extremely likely that if you cast a spell, missed, then cast another spell, a GM would rule that casting the second spell causes the first to dissipate, even though you're not technically holding the charge until after the end of the round.
I think this is a loophole, and exploiting the end of the round holding to effectively have two held charges at once is a bad idea.