Drunken Brute Archetype & Actions involved in drinking from a waterskin


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

The Drunken Brute archetype for the barbarian gives you the ability to drink a potion or a tankard of ale or similar quantity of alcohol as a move action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity.
In combat, is it two move actions to use this ability to drink from a waterskin, i.e. one for the drink and one for "drawing" the waterskin, or is it a single move action to do both allowing me to still take a standard action to attack?
As far as I can tell, RAW it is two move actions, but they aren't very specific on what qualifies as a "stowed" item. Since preparing spell components is a free action, logic would suggest that taking the water skin hanging at your hip and raising it to your mouth would be about equivalent.


Retrieving an object is a move action that provokes AoOs, so it is two move actions unless you already have it in hand.

Preparing a spell component is a free action because it's specifically stated to be a free action.

Scarab Sages

Cheapy wrote:

Retrieving an object is a move action that provokes AoOs, so it is two move actions unless you already have it in hand.

Preparing a spell component is a free action because it's specifically stated to be a free action.

My confusion lay in that it is a move action to retrieve a stowed

item. I can't find much that specifies what qualifies as a stowed item, beyond "Draw or Sheathe a Weapon

Drawing a weapon so that you can use it in combat, or putting it away so that you have a free hand, requires a move action. This action also applies to weapon-like objects carried in easy reach, such as wands. If your weapon or weapon-like object is stored in a pack or otherwise out of easy reach, treat this action as retrieving a stored item.

If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may draw a weapon as a free action combined with a regular move. If you have the Two-Weapon Fighting feat, you can draw two light or one-handed weapons in the time it would normally take you to draw one.

Drawing ammunition for use with a ranged weapon (such as arrows, bolts, sling bullets, or shuriken) is a free action.

Manipulate an Item

Moving or manipulating an item is usually a move action.

This includes retrieving or putting away a stored item, picking up an item, moving a heavy object, and opening a door. Examples of this kind of action, along with whether they incur an attack of opportunity, are given in Table: Actions in Combat."

These all refer to items stored in packs, but do not address items slung or carried, like a waterskin.


There's also this text:

Quote:
Moving or manipulating an item is usually a move action.

You're manipulating it, mate. To the definition :)

Unless explicitly stated otherwise, it's going to be a move action to retrieve it.


right. barring further errata, the ability seems to add about +1/2 action (ie. 1 action per 2 rounds) if you would otherwise be moving and thus able to draw an item 'for free'. it's also rather useful if you are for some reason limited to only taking move actions. and it's not impossible to gain extra/bonus move actions. personally, i think the ability should state it's context/scope a bit more directly though.


Quandary wrote:
right. barring further errata, the ability seems to add about +1/2 action (ie. 1 action per 2 rounds) if you would otherwise be moving and thus able to draw an item 'for free'.

? I thought you could only draw a weapon as part of movement, not retrieve any item.

Drunken brute archetype has always read to me that it allows you to basically not count the round you're drinking against your rage. It's a somewhat useful benefit when combined with the drink-boosted rage powers, but still of dubious benefit considering it's really hard on action economy.


Have you seen the movie Pan's Labrynth?? If you have, you understand how a beer bottle can be a weapon.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Drunken Brute Archetype & Actions involved in drinking from a waterskin All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions