Casting spells while under Controlled Rage


Rules Questions


Can someone cast spells while under the influence of Controlled Rage?

Controlled Rage (Ex)
When an urban barbarian rages, instead of making a normal rage she may apply a +4 morale bonus to her Strength, Dexterity, or Constitution. This bonus increases to +6 when she gains greater rage and +8 when she gains mighty rage. She may apply the full bonus to one ability score or may split the bonus between several scores in increments of +2. When using a controlled rage, an urban barbarian gains no bonus on Will saves, takes no penalties to AC, and can still use Intelligence-, Dexterity-, and Charisma-based skills. This ability otherwise follows the normal rules for rage.

Rage (Ex) (excerpt...)
While in rage, a barbarian gains a +4 morale bonus to her Strength and Constitution, as well as a +2 morale bonus on Will saves. In addition, she takes a –2 penalty to Armor Class. The increase to Constitution grants the barbarian 2 hit points per Hit Dice, but these disappear when the rage ends and are not lost first like temporary hit points. While in rage, a barbarian cannot use any Charisma-, Dexterity-, or Intelligence-based skills (except Acrobatics, Fly, Intimidate, and Ride) or any ability that requires patience or concentration.

It seems not on the surface to me, but the argument is being made for it.


"This ability otherwise follows the normal rules for rage."

Since Controlled Rage doesn't let you cast spells while Raging, you can't.


Normally, Rage does not allow you to use any ability that requires patience or concentration. Unless Controlled Rage changes this, you still can't use any ability that requires patience or concentration.


Quantum Steve wrote:
Normally, Rage does not allow you to use any ability that requires patience or concentration. Unless Controlled Rage changes this, you still can't use any ability that requires patience or concentration.

That was my interpretation as well - thanks for the clarification.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Casting spells while under Controlled Rage All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions