Buckler and bow


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

hello all!

it says you can use a bow and crossbow while having the buckler strapped to your arm in the core ruelbook.

it does not say if you loose its AC bonus while you use a bow. an someone clarify this for me please?

thanks!

RW

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

There's some debate on this topic. It says you can fire a bow "without penalty". Some take "penalty" in a strict sense, meaning only the -1 to hit that's associated with using a weapon with your buckler arm. Others take "penalty" to mean "any drawback", and believe the archer retains the buckler's AC bonus.

Personally, I'm somewhat torn, but lean toward "no bonus".

Lantern Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32

PRD wrote:
In any case, if you use a weapon in your off hand, you lose the buckler's Armor Class bonus until your next turn. You can cast a spell with somatic components using your shield arm, but you lose the buckler's Armor Class bonus until your next turn.

I think the intent is if you use the buckler hand for anything, casting a spell, attacking with a melee or ranged weapon, then you lose the shield bonus until your next turn.


I would love to see an actual trial, via youtube link or somesuch, by an experienced archer. That would clear up my house ruling, if not the RAW. I'm also leaning towards no bonus, though, as it seems like you'd have enough trouble managing the bow with the buckler to begin with.


using a buckler with bow would still be worth it if it has enchantments that affect the whole person and thus do not lose them even if attacking with the bow


The problem with a RW tryal is a RL buckler does not work the way a DnD/pathfinder buckler does. In RL a buckler is a small shield grasped in the fist and is ideal of shield bashing.


The way we play it is that the buckler provides it's AC benefit unless you are getting an attack of opportunity due to shooting the bow.


While typically D&D/PF bucklers can be strapped to your forearm instead which allows the hand to be used. This being the case based on the fact that your hand is always in a sense in a "blocking position" (pretend to fire a bow. You draw an arrow & fire with the hand not holding the bow which would be the hand without the buckler on it.) you're only holding the bow with one hand essentially, I don't see why you couldn't get AC bonus.


so, there is no clear answer?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Buckler and bow All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions