Dismissal and Extraplanar Creatures


Rules Questions


http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/d/dismissal

What, exactly, is an "Extraplanar Creature"?

Obviously, if you're on a Material plane, a summoned creature would qualify.

However, is there a strict definition somewhere? If you use plane shift, can Dismissal be targetted on you, for example?


Creature Types wrote:
Extraplanar Subtype: This subtype is applied to any creature when it is on a plane other than its native plane. A creature that travels the planes can gain or lose this subtype as it goes from plane to plane. Monster entries assume that encounters with creatures take place on the Material Plane, and every creature whose native plane is not the Material Plane has the extraplanar subtype (but would not have it when on its home plane). Every extraplanar creature in this book has a home plane mentioned in its description. Creatures not labeled as extraplanar are natives of the Material Plane, and they gain the extraplanar subtype if they leave the Material Plane. No creature has the extraplanar subtype when it is on a transitive plane, such as the Astral Plane, the Ethereal Plane, or the Plane of Shadow.

Found here, 3/4 of the way down the page.


Thank you very much! :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Dismissal and Extraplanar Creatures All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.