Overhand Chop / Backswing + Cleaving Finish


Rules Questions


Looked at the other related threads, but none seem to address this issue:

Does a character get the OC bonus on the extra attack from CF? Would Backswing+CF apply the Backswing bonus on the extra attack?

Similarly, is there a way to get the OC bonus on an AoO?


Anyone? Anyone? Bueller?


Lets break these down.

Does a character get the OC bonus on the extra attack from CF?

No its for the single attack used with either the standard action attack or a charge.

Would Backswing+CF apply the Backswing bonus on the extra attack?

Yes since every attack after the first gets the bonus.

Is there a way to get the OC bonus on an AoO?

No since to get Overhand chop you must be making a Attack action or a charge for the attack.


Ok, makes sense. Thanks.


Backswing says it only applies on a full attack. Would CF count as a full attack?


No CF wouldnt count as part of a full attack.


So then backswing won't work with cleave or cleave finish right?

It would only work with full round attack?


Feats do what they say they do, If it specifically says it works on a full attack ask is what you are doing a full attack then you have your answer.


Just clarifying, a player was trying to argue that it does work on cleave. Could also explain why he kept implying he was going to reroll at later levels.


Here is something that might help and would actually probably reduce rules forum traffic if more people followed it.

PF is a permission based system, it either gives you permission to do something or says nothing, in which case you do not have permission. Every action related to combat for the most part has an action associated with it.

So when asking questions like 'does X work with y' ask first, what action does X take and what Action does Y take. sometimes it can mean they never work together, other times that they sometimes work together and sometimes that they always work together.

In the case of backswing and cleaving finish the only part i am unsure about is this.

If you take the full attack action, and trigger cleaving finish does cleaving finish work with backswing? It would fall under an attack ater the first. However.. its not actually connected to the full attack action.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Overhand Chop / Backswing + Cleaving Finish All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions