2 more questions.


Rules Questions


1) Can i sue spellstrike as attack of opportunity?
2) I choose to fight defensively on my turn. I take the CA bonus even before the attack or only after the attack? I ask this in case of attacks of opportunity before my attack.


Alex_UNLIMITED wrote:
1) Can i sue spellstrike as attack of opportunity?
Spellstrike wrote:
At 2nd level, whenever a magus casts a spell with a range of “touch” from the magus spell list, he can deliver the spell through any weapon he is wielding as part of a melee attack.

Since you can't cast a spell during an attack of opportunity, I would have to say no.

Alex_UNLIMITED wrote:

2) I choose to fight defensively on my turn. I take the CA bonus even before the attack or only after the attack? I ask this in case of attacks of opportunity before my attack.

Fightind Defensively as a Standard Action wrote:
You can choose to fight defensively when attacking. If you do so, you take a –4 penalty on all attacks in a round to gain a +2 to AC until the start of your next turn.

You gain both the -4 to hit and the +2 to AC at the same moment. Think of it as taking a fighting stance. Instead of being in a free-form stance that allows for easy defense and easy offense, you concentrate more on defense than offense.


Ok, but if I'm moving and before attacking I've decided to fight defensively, but I have not attacked, I get the AC bonus if a monster with reach is attacking me?

Dark Archive

Sure thing you get the AC bonus.
That comes simultaneously with the to hit malus, so if you've taken the defensive stance right from the start of the round (before even moving), you already have both of them. As a DM I'd not allow to take stances "in the middle of a round".


Fighting Defensively is a Standard action, so it can be taken at anytime that one could take a Standard Action. However, if, during movement and you haven't taken your Standard Action yet, you provoke an attack of opportunity, you do not gain the benefits of Fighting Defensively as you haven't taken your Standard Action yet. You must take your Standard Action before your Move Action to gain the benefits of Fighting Defensively.

Liberty's Edge

1) Yes and no. No, you can not cast a spell as part of an attack of opportunity. However, if you are holding the charge of a spell (say you intended to use spell strike last turn but missed) then yes, you can deliver it through an attack of opportunity.

2) I would say only during and after your attack.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / 2 more questions. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.