
Lochmonster |

Hi,
If a sorcerer is BEHIND their allies and uses enlarge person, can his rays be cast over the heads of his allies and ignore the penalty and/or cover they might be providing the enemy?
Also is there a good thread about what combat feats do or do not apply to the use of rays? I see this mentioned often on other threads and I am personally unclear on the subject...

![]() |

from the PRD:
Low Obstacles and Cover: A low obstacle (such as a wall no higher than half your height) provides cover, but only to creatures within 30 feet (6 squares) of it. The attacker can ignore the cover if he's closer to the obstacle than his target.
I would say sure, if the sorc's allies are only 1/2 his height.
Also, since Enlarge person does the following:
This spell causes instant growth of a humanoid creature, doubling its height and multiplying its weight by 8.
That 1/2 height should be reachable. (unless the sorc was short to begin with and his allies tall. )

![]() |

I always assumed that when combat begins, your allies were aware and allowed you to shoot through their space. (Especially rays, as they have aim-assist on them.)
Then again maybe I missed the rules on this. Does it mention in the CRB about allies blocking your ranged attacks?
[EDIT]
http://paizo.com/paizo/messageboards/paizoPublishing/pathfinder/pathfinderR PG/rules/questionAboutLineOfSight
This might be useful to you.
from the PRD:
Soft Cover: Creatures, even your enemies, can provide you with cover against ranged attacks, giving you a +4 bonus to AC. However, such soft cover provides no bonus on Reflex saves, nor does soft cover allow you to make a Stealth check.
So, if your enemies can provide you soft cover vs others in their group the reverse should be true and your allies provide soft cover for your enemies if they are in the way.
This is determined with the following:
To determine whether your target has cover from your ranged attack, choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target's square passes through a square or border that blocks line of effect or provides cover, or through a square occupied by a creature, the target has cover (+4 to AC).

Foghammer |

For simplicity, treat rays as a ranged weapon. You can select it for Weapon Focus and such, and it qualifies for feats that apply to ranged attacks that are not weapon specific. Point blank shot is allowed, off the top of my head.
Anything that says "ranged attack/weapon" and not "bow/thrown weapon/projectile" is probably valid.

Lochmonster |

For simplicity, treat rays as a ranged weapon. You can select it for Weapon Focus and such, and it qualifies for feats that apply to ranged attacks that are not weapon specific. Point blank shot is allowed, off the top of my head.
Anything that says "ranged attack/weapon" and not "bow/thrown weapon/projectile" is probably valid.
I was lead to believe Point Blank Shot and that line of feats coudl be applied to rays.
Is this not the case?