Spell slot flexibility?


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

Can you cast a spell using a higher spell slot than its spell level?

As a simple example, let's imagine a 4th level sorcerer whose only 2nd level spell known is Create Pit. At the end of a day of adventuring, he's already used all his 1st level spell slots, and he's up against a flying foe, so it's immune to falling into pits. Can he cast Magic Missile using a 2nd level spell slot even though it's a 1st level spell?

Since I play mostly in Pathfinder Society, I need a RAW answer, preferably with info on where to find this in the books.


Yes, you just don't gain the benefit of the high level slot in any way (that's what heighten spell is for), but in the books this might only apply to divine casters

PRD Magic "spell slots" wrote:


Spell Slots: The character class tables show how many spells of each level each can cast per day. These openings for daily spells are called spell slots. A spellcaster always has the option to fill a higher-level spell slot with a lower-level spell. A spellcaster who lacks a high enough ability score to cast spells that would otherwise be her due still gets the slots but must fill them with spells of lower levels.

Silver Crusade

Thanks for the clarification. One of these days, I'll actually get around to reading all the rules. :p

Grand Lodge

Yes he can. Also if he has any meta and has the little extra time he can apply meta to it. I had a soc that took Highten spell as he was a flaming Sphere nut for that reason.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell slot flexibility? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.