Spellbook spell limit


Rules Questions


My DM told me that only so many spells can be in a spellbook. his specific example was that each spell takes up as many pages as its level and that a spellbook has a finite amount of pages. Some of that sounds reasonable, but I am finding no rulebook information to support this.

He wasn't 100% clear on the rules, he was making a passing statement, so if there are real rules to back this, I would like to read them so I can understand what I need to do to create the best spellbook.

Dark Archive

Writing a New Spell into a Spellbook

Once a wizard understands a new spell, he can record it into his spellbook.

Time: The process takes 1 hour per spell level. Cantrips (0 levels spells) take 30 minutes to record.

Space in the Spellbook: A spell takes up one page of the spellbook per spell level. Even a 0-level spell (cantrip) takes one page. A spellbook has 100 pages.

Materials and Costs: The cost for writing a new spell into a spellbook depends on the level of the spell, as noted on Table: Spell Level and Writing Costs. Note that a wizard does not have to pay these costs in time or gold for spells he gains for free at each new level.

Grand Lodge

A spellbook has 100 pages. You can buy more.


Oh...ok. Was looking in the wrong place. Thanks for the input.

Dark Archive

Generally it means its time to splash out on the Handy Haversack so you can carry everything.

At around 4th-5th level its time to start piling the emergency use scrolls, wands, potions, rods in the HH anyway - move action draw then standard action use.


And this is the reason I usually give wizards a Book of Infinite Pages at about level 5 or so.

Grand Lodge

Fallen_Mage wrote:
And this is the reason I usually give wizards a Book of Infinite Pages at about level 5 or so.

Just make sure that they can find or buy a Blessed Book. 1000 pages, no cost to write spells into it. Costs 12,500 gp, which is probably a bit pricey at 4th level, but probably worth it when they can get that far.


I totally agree about needing the HH. Any Wizard worth his spells will have one not only for numerous spellbooks and scrolls, but if you feel like taking a swim, then they won't get wet.

Grand Lodge

Normaly means that as you get up there you have more then one spell book and you need a magical item to hold all of your books alown.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spellbook spell limit All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.