Moon / star / sunlight summons query


Rules Questions


These three feats do not seem to stipulate that they apply to creatures summoned with spells. So does that mean they can be applied to creatures summoned by the character in other ways?
Can a First Worlder, or a Summoner with a level of Druid, take one of these feats to apply to their eidolon?

My search fu failed to find anything very definitive, just JJ making an offhand 'no' without any explanation and somewhat in disagreement with what the RAW seems to look like.

The feats:

Moonlight Summons

Your summoned minions are infused with the power of the moon.

Prerequisites: Spell Focus (conjuration), able to cast summon nature's ally.

Benefit: Creatures you summon shed light as a light spell. They are immune to confusion and sleep effects, and their natural weapons are treated as silver for the purposes of overcoming damage reduction.

Starlight Summons

Your summoned minions slink along under the shadows of the stars.

Prerequisites: Spell Focus (conjuration), able to cast summon nature's ally.

Benefit: Creatures you summon gain the Blind-Fight feat, a +5 bonus to Perception and Stealth checks in dim light or darkness, and their natural weapons are treated as cold iron for overcoming damage reduction.

Sunlight Summons

Your summoned minions shine with the power of the sun.

Prerequisites: Spell Focus (conjuration), able to cast summon nature's ally.

Benefit: Creatures that you summon shed light as a light spell. They are immune to blinding or dazzling effects, and their natural weapons are treated as magical for overcoming damage reduction.
Source


I am 99.95% certain that the intent is that they only work on creatures summoned, as in Conjuration (Summon).

They will only apply to an eidolon when it is summoned through the Summon Eidolon spell, as it is the an Conjuration (Summon)


I agree that the intent is almost certainly for them to only apply to summoning spells, possibly even only to SNA, they just fail to actually say that.


I don't see why these feats would be limited to SNA, or even to spells. The prerequisite is one thing, but unless the description states the limitation, there is no limitation. As long as you dip one level of Druid, or 4 levels of ranger, you can use these feats for all means of summoning a creature. Perhaps there is an errata or faq which elaborates further, but I don't see why it would be needed - the requirement of spending a feat with little use other than fulfilling prerequisites for better feats (spell focus (conjuration)), and dipping a level of druid seems like a high-enough cost for a summoner to pay to apply these feats to his summons.


Mabven the OP healer wrote:
I don't see why these feats would be limited to SNA, or even to spells. The prerequisite is one thing, but unless the description states the limitation, there is no limitation. As long as you dip one level of Druid, or 4 levels of ranger, you can use these feats for all means of summoning a creature. Perhaps there is an errata or faq which elaborates further, but I don't see why it would be needed - the requirement of spending a feat with little use other than fulfilling prerequisites for better feats (spell focus (conjuration)), and dipping a level of druid seems like a high-enough cost for a summoner to pay to apply these feats to his summons.

The problem is that the way they are worded would make them applicable to eidolons, which while not particularly over powering still seems a little wrong.

I suspect the RAW of these feats fails to limit them to what was intended.


Compare to the wording of Augment Summoning:

Each creature you conjure with any summon spell gains a +4 enhancement bonus to Strength and Constitution for the duration of the spell that summoned it.

I'm pretty sure they would apply to any form of summoning, even the eidolon ritual. Intended, possibly not, but as written, yes.

Shadow Lodge

I for one dipped into Nature Oracle for my summoner. Got friend to the animals, a few spells I can cast a few times per day, and the ability to get these feats for my summons. I hadn't even considered that it'd apply to my eidolon, though as a Master Summoner, I don't use him much anymore.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Moon / star / sunlight summons query All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.