Being swallowed with blinded condition...


Rules Questions


...or, merely, being swallowed without blinded condition ( in fact there's not light inside a creature :P )
My question is: rules of total concealment apply in this case? Or in general, unless you have darkvision? Or there is some exception? Thx in advance


To what end are you wondering?


Talonhawke wrote:
To what end are you wondering?

Well, if reading the rules verbatim, you are unable to see the very gizzard that is holding you (as is isn't exactly illuminated).

Which implies it has total concealment, for you are unable to see it.
Which will put you at a 50% miss chance when trying to cut yourself out.


The problem is that in this case ( being swallowed ) a character is within a very narrow space, and in fact he can use only light weapons ( spear? no way! ). While being the concealment a mechanical representation of "a blinded guy most likely miss his opponent: he can't see him and, hypothetically, his opponent moves/dodge/other during combat", I think it's difficult to miss (miss, not penetrate, in this case "hit his armor class" it's the mechanical rapresentation of "penetrating his skin with your knife" ) a something static that's all around you and, ipotetically, it's extremely close to you ( the character is in a space so narrow that he can use only light weapons).
I was hoping there were some exceptions to the rule, but apparently there aren't ...


IMO, the difficulty of bringing the weapon to bear in the space involved is reflected by the swallow hole line that assigns the target AC for hitting and cutting yourself out.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Being swallowed with blinded condition... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.