Overhand Chop and Attacks of Opportunity


Rules Questions


Let's say you play a 3rd level Fighter (Two-handed Fighter).

So you have:

Overhand Chop (Ex): At 3rd level, when a two-handed fighter makes a single attack (with the attack action or a charge) with a two-handed weapon, he adds double his Strength bonus on damage rolls. This ability replaces armor training 1.

Can you then make an Attack of Opportunity and apply Overhand Chop to it ?

I would say yes, but I'm not sure.

Also, I'm assuming Overhand Chop comes in addition with normal damage.

That means a Two-handed Fighter with Strenght 18 and a greatsword would potentially do: [2d6 + (4+2) + 8] = 2d6+14 points of damage.

Or would it be only: [2d6 + (2x4)] = 2d6+8 points of damage ?


its the second you don't get your strength bonus twice. You get to double it instead of 1.5ing it.


Quiche Lisp wrote:


Overhand Chop (Ex): At 3rd level, when a two-handed fighter makes a single attack (with the attack action or a charge) with a two-handed weapon, he adds double his Strength bonus on damage rolls. This ability replaces armor training 1.

Can you then make an Attack of Opportunity and apply Overhand Chop to it ?

I would say yes, but I'm not sure.

I would also say yes "An attack of opportunity is a single melee attack" altho' some might argue that the overhand chop feat is specifically limiting the possible actions to ones you can initiate on your round.


Yeah my thinking runs in the direction that its calling out the attack action (standard) and the charge action(full-round) so Im not sure its meant to allow the bonus on AoO though if your only taking one AoO a round its not gonna be much of a game breaker anyways.


It says "with the attack action" - and that's an attack, which can be an AoO. It's the same reasoning that allows you to use trip and sunder on an AoO. So that should be RAW.


Derwalt wrote:
It says "with the attack action" - and that's an attack, which can be an AoO. It's the same reasoning that allows you to use trip and sunder on an AoO. So that should be RAW.

No the wording for the Trip CM is that i can be done "in place of a melee attack".

Here it calls out the attack action specifically.


Hmm... I guess I'm wrong then :) ...I Think I would allow it anyway. Anyone else have an opinion?


Yet again, the "attack action" is a specific standard action, not any attack.

I've recommended in other places calling it "the single-attack action" to make it clear.

Also, no way this is allowed or intended to be allowed. AoOs resolve with normal damage.


AoOs are an immediate action, whereas an attack action, as others have stated, is a standard action.

You only apply the normal 1.5 modifier for a two-handed weapon on AoOs.


LearnTheRules wrote:

AoOs are an immediate action, whereas an attack action, as others have stated, is a standard action.

You only apply the normal 1.5 modifier for a two-handed weapon on AoOs.

They are not an "immediate action".

That term refers to a type of action that can be taken out of turn AND uses your next swift action.

I'll agree that it's a little confusing that they happen "immediately" (interrupting the flow of actions), but they are not an immediate action.

Grand Lodge

They are not an action.


Regardless they don't count as an attack action so overhand chop doesn't apply.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Overhand Chop and Attacks of Opportunity All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.