Wands, UMD and Class Spell List


Rules Questions


Hello everyone.
I'm a bit confused about the sentence of the UMD check that states:

Core wrote:
Use a Wand, Staff, or Other Spell Trigger Item: Normally, to use a wand, you must have the wand's spell on your class spell list. This use of the skill allows you to use a wand as if you had a particular spell on your class spell list. Failing the roll does not expend a charge.

Having a spell on the class spell list means that a 1rst level wizard can cast a 4lvl spell (such as enervation for example), from a wand without making the check or "class spell list" refers to have the spell on the spellbook?

Thanks in advance


belmondo_89 wrote:
Having a spell on the class spell list means that a 1rst level wizard can cast a 4lvl spell (such as enervation for example), from a wand without making the check or "class spell list" refers to have the spell on the spellbook?

You don't need the spell in your spellbook. The only thing that matters is the list in the core rules book (or the extended lists from other books if those are allowed in your game).

In the end, the only thing that's stopping you from doing so at first level is the fact that you probably don't have the gold to buy a 4th level wand.

Similary, a paladin and ranger can use wands of cure light wounds from level 1 enough though they can't even cast spells.

Grand Lodge

belmondo_89 wrote:

Hello everyone.

I'm a bit confused about the sentence of the UMD check that states:

Core wrote:
Use a Wand, Staff, or Other Spell Trigger Item: Normally, to use a wand, you must have the wand's spell on your class spell list. This use of the skill allows you to use a wand as if you had a particular spell on your class spell list. Failing the roll does not expend a charge.

Having a spell on the class spell list means that a 1rst level wizard can cast a 4lvl spell (such as enervation for example), from a wand without making the check or "class spell list" refers to have the spell on the spellbook?

Thanks in advance

Using a wand of a spell that's higher level than what you can cast calls for a caster level check against the caster level of the wand, no?


Pathfinder Maps, Starfinder Maps Subscriber
LazarX wrote:
belmondo_89 wrote:

Hello everyone.

I'm a bit confused about the sentence of the UMD check that states:

Core wrote:
Use a Wand, Staff, or Other Spell Trigger Item: Normally, to use a wand, you must have the wand's spell on your class spell list. This use of the skill allows you to use a wand as if you had a particular spell on your class spell list. Failing the roll does not expend a charge.

Having a spell on the class spell list means that a 1rst level wizard can cast a 4lvl spell (such as enervation for example), from a wand without making the check or "class spell list" refers to have the spell on the spellbook?

Thanks in advance

Using a wand of a spell that's higher level than what you can cast calls for a caster level check against the caster level of the wand, no?

Nope. You do have to make a Caster Level check if it was a scroll of a spell of higher level than you could cast though, assuming you meet the requisite ability scores to cast that spell.


Never knew that about scrolls, in having to make a CL check for spells higher than you cast.

Where is that in the book?

Grand Lodge

It's because Scrolls are spell completion items, whereas wands and staves are spell trigger items. Look those terms up.


Ok, found it. Thanks.

Also found we are handling the original step of Activation incorrectly, as well. He has never had me decipher, or use Read Magic, at first. The only requirements he has used is if it's on my spell list or I have the requisite ability score.

Will need to point this out to our DM. Makes it more difficult on me, but also makes it more challenging/fun.


Pathfinder Maps, Starfinder Maps Subscriber

Well, I always assumed that if you know what the scroll is, you probably would be considered to have "deciphered" it. Is that not the case?

Silver Crusade

If it's a scroll you just found, then you'd have to actually take the time to cast Read Magic. Most of the time, I'd assume that such things take place between adventures, assuming that the PC involved has that cantrip, which is why I'd never make a spellcaster without it.

Grand Lodge

Fromper wrote:

If it's a scroll you just found, then you'd have to actually take the time to cast Read Magic. Most of the time, I'd assume that such things take place between adventures, assuming that the PC involved has that cantrip, which is why I'd never make a spellcaster without it.

Read Magic is pretty much something to use when you don't want to bother with making a Spellcraft roll.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wands, UMD and Class Spell List All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions