Flurry of Blows CMB


Rules Questions


Can any of a monks 'flurry of blows' attacks be used for Combat Maneuvers? Disarm, Sunder, and Trip state that they replace a melee attack, so I was wondering about this possibility.

Thanks


Yes. As you said, trip, disarm, and sunder replace melee attacks. So a monk can use them instead of flurry attacks as much as he wants.


Clarification to be sure please.

Can he use them as Flurry attacks? (i.e. I announce flurry of blows as my action. The first of my two FOB being a trip, and the second for a melee attack.


If the specific Combat Maneuver says it can be used in place of an attack then yes, but f the Combat Maneuver requires a standard action then no.

The wording is in each specific ability Combat Maneuver.

Quote:
Performing a Combat Maneuver: When performing a combat maneuver, you must use an action appropriate to the maneuver you are attempting to perform. While many combat maneuvers can be performed as part of an attack action, full-attack action, or attack of opportunity (in place of a melee attack)
Quote:

Disarm

You can attempt to disarm your opponent in place of a melee attack.

A melee attack performed as part of a Flurry of Blows is still a melee attack.

Quote:

Grapple

As a standard action, you can attempt to grapple a foe,

Grapple requires its own standard action so you could not use it in place of a melee attack.

Flurry of Blows has no wording that says it treats Combat Maneuvers differently than any other Full Attack, so in order for it not to work there would need to be wording saying that it can not use combat maneuvers. The only difference between FoB and a normal full attack is that the monk is treated as though he has TWF to an extent, and he fights as if he had the highest BAB when doing so.


In the entry for Flurry of Blows in the core rulebook it states that Monks may substitute disarm, sunder or trip combat maneuvers for unarmed attacks during a flurry of blows.

I'd say if you have a monk weapon that affects one of these, such as the Kama as it's a trip weapon, then you could substitute the appropriate CMB for the weapon if you're not using unarmed attacks.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Flurry of Blows CMB All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.