Does a cleric / divine caster need to present their divine focus to cast a spell?


Rules Questions


several pictures of the iconic cleric (and druid for that matter) show them presenting their divine focus when a spell is cast. Is this necessary?

And if you take the Birthmark trait, would it need to be visable?


Pathfinder Maps, Starfinder Maps Subscriber

If the spell has the "DF" listed under Components for that spell, then yes. For example, take the Bless spell has "DF" as a component. Kyra's just odd in that she always has her symbol ready to go. The Kyra pregen could be two-handing the scimitar! URG! (end minor rant)

Also, Oracles never need to present a divine focus for their spells. It's a note in their class.


PFSRD wrote:

Birthmark

You were born with a strange birthmark that looks very similar to the holy symbol of the god you chose to worship later in life.

Benefit: This birthmark can serve you as a divine focus for casting spells, and you gain a +2 trait bonus on all saving throws against charm and compulsion effects.

Since it just says it serves as a divine focus I would rule that while the Birthmark need not be visible (a.k.a. forehead, back of hand, etc.), you would still have to present it when casting spells... which would be hilarious if the mark were on your tush.


Of course one way around, IMO, it is to incorporate the divine symbol into an appropriate item or piece of clothing, something that is normally visible while adventuring. A shield or tabard should work, or some sort of symbol hanging from a chain on the pommel of that two handed weapon.


Pathfinder Maps, Starfinder Maps Subscriber

There are Reliquary items which serves as both divine focus and Weapon/Shield. Also, don't forget that you can have your divine focus hanging around your neck with a piece of string, and just grab it when the time comes.

Grand Lodge

Yeah, check out the channel foci section.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Now the bonus question: does brandishing your holy symbol/divine focus prevent you from having the "one hand free" in order to cast spells?

In other words, can a cleric hold a heavy shield in one hand, their holy symbol/divine focus in the other hand, and still count as having "one hand free" to cast spells with a Somatic component?

What if they have a Sanctified Shield or Consecrated Weapon (both count as a holy symbol) in hand instead of their holy symbol? Can a cleric weild a consecrated weapon and a heavy shield and still cast spells with a Somatic component?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does a cleric / divine caster need to present their divine focus to cast a spell? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions