Magical Knack effect on Oracle Revelations


Rules Questions


Hi, I'm looking for advice on a ruling. I'm playing a Bard 8/Oracle 7.
I applied Magical Knack to my Oracular half. When I use a Revelation (Thunder Burst in this case) doesn't it count as Oracle 9 for damage, DC, etc?

I'm not asking for extra spells or revelations. But doesn't this spell-like ability have a +2 effective level?

Your thoughts?

(Not meaning to be a pain in my GM's butt. I honestly thought it would count as 9th level instead of 7th.)

Any official-type input appreciated.

Magical Knack Trait:
You were raised, either wholly or in part, by a magical creature, either after it found you abandoned in the woods or because your parents often left you in the care of a magical minion. This constant exposure to magic has made its mysteries easy for you to understand, even when you turn your mind to other devotions and tasks.

Benefit: Pick a class when you gain this trait—your caster level in that class gains a +2 trait bonus as long as this bonus doesn’t increase your caster level higher than your current Hit Dice.


It does count as an extra +2, but it counts toward things that rely on caster levels, not class levels.

As an example:

Quote:


Thunderburst Ex:
As a standard action, you can create a blast of air accompanied by a loud peal of thunder. The blast has a range of 100 feet and has a 20-foot radius, increasing by 5 feet for every 4 oracle levels after 7th. Creatures in the area take 1d6 points of bludgeoning damage per oracle level and are deafened for 1 hour, with a Fortitude save resulting in half damage and no deafness. You must be at least 7th level to select this revelation. You can use this ability once per day, plus one additional time per day at 11th level and every four levels thereafter.

You are a 7th level oracle with a caster level of 9.

You are not casting anything so caster levels don't apply.

If magical knack affected class levels then everything that was affect by class level would be improved to include which revelations you qualified for.


Strictly speaking, it won't increase the level of the revelation. The trait increases your caster level, but revelations tend to specify oracle level and not caster level.

I don't see any problems with allowing it to work, though.


Quote:
Caster Level (CL): Caster level represents a creature's power and ability when casting spells. When a creature casts a spell, it often contains a number of variables, such as range or damage, that are based on the caster's level.


-Waves shyly at Watcher Uatu- Shucks, you caught me!

This trait does have some grey area that could use official clarification, especially around "spell-like abilities."

I read other threads before posting. One thread had an Official Paizo GM ruling that a spellcaster could take a feat 2 levels higher than his current level allowed, using Magical Knack.

That wasn't even a use I would have even considered.

And I thought "Caster Level" was a shortcut way of applying it to ALL spellcasters, rather than saying for example: Caster Level (CL): Wizard/Sorcerer/Cleric/Bard/Witch/Oracle/Paladin/Ranger/Any Other Spellcater level represents a creature's power and ability when casting spells. When a creature casts a spell, it often contains a number of variables, such as range or damage, that are based on the Wizard/Sorcerer/Cleric/Bard/Witch/Oracle/Paladin/Ranger/Any Other Spellcaster's level.

Anyhoo... an official Paizo sidebar regarding spell-like abilities would be cool. (and feats too, apparently)

In the meantime, I will humbly submit to my GM's ruling. It's more important to get on with having fun.


If it was an SLA I would allow it also, but it is an extraordinary ability. :)

Quote:
Thunderburst (Ex)


If a thing says caster level in its rules, then it is affected by magical Knack. If it says '[class] level' or something else, then it isn't. If it just says 'level' it depends on the context. In the context of a spell description, 'level' means caster level. In the context of a class feature, it means level in that particular class. Contexts that aren't particular to a class probably mean character level, but it depends on the specifics.

As for item creation and other caster-level dependent feats, yes, Magical Knack lets you take them earlier. E.g. a fighter 2/wizard 1 with magical knack can take arcane armor training.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magical Knack effect on Oracle Revelations All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions