Would a tanglefoot bag stop a swarm?


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

My group fought a swarm of little spiders the other day, and it got me thinking - rather than blasting them with fire, would a tanglefoot bag have stuck them in place and stopped them from swarming?


By the rules, I doubt it would work. If I were the GM, I'd probably allow it to do some damage to the swarm (on the grounds that I hate damage-immune swarms as a player).


Regarding targeting a swarm... "A swarm is immune to any spell or effect that targets a specific number of creatures (including single-target spells such as disintegrate)..." (from the PRD)

Regarding tanglefoot bags... "When you throw a tanglefoot bag at a creature (as a ranged touch attack with a range increment of 10 feet)..." (from the PRD)

So as hogarth pointed out, RAW makes it look like a "no". But I would agree with the idea that it might "do damage" to the swarm in that some of the hundreds (or thousands) of creatures in the swarm could be stuck/mired and thus reducing the strength of the swarm overall and making it harder to disperse. I would home-rule it to do 1d4 points, but that would be a sad waste of a tanglefoot.

Good idea though I probably wouldn't allow it in PFS.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Would a tanglefoot bag stop a swarm? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions