Penetrating Strike and weapon focus with two weapons


Rules Questions


12th lvl fighter (sword and board) previously took weapon focus with scimitar and weapon focus light shield (improved shield bash kind of thing).

Would Penetrating Strike apply to both weapon attacks or just one weapon?


No. You have a select a specific weapon and apply Penetrating Strike only to that weapon.

EDIT: And note that Penetrating Strike lacks the 'special' text from Weapon Focus and Weapon Specialization; therefore you cannot take the feat more than once. So choose wisely.

Master Arminas


master arminas wrote:

No. You have a select a specific weapon and apply Penetrating Strike only to that weapon.

EDIT: And note that Penetrating Strike lacks the 'special' text from Weapon Focus and Weapon Specialization; therefore you cannot take the feat more than once. So choose wisely.

Master Arminas

Incorrect

Your attacks are capable of penetrating the defenses of some creatures.

Prerequisites: Weapon Focus, base attack bonus +1, 12th-level fighter, proficiency with weapon.

Benefit: Your attacks with weapons selected with Weapon Focus ignore up to 5 points of damage reduction. This feat does not apply to damage reduction without a type (such as DR 10/—).

Greater Penetrating Strike (Combat) wrote:

Your attacks penetrate the defenses of most foes.

Prerequisites: Penetrating Strike, Weapon Focus, 16th-level fighter.

Benefit: Your attacks with weapons selected with Weapon Focus ignore up to 10 points of damage reduction. This amount is reduced to 5 points for damage reduction without a type (such as DR 10/—).

Any weapon you have WF with gets the benefit applied. It mentions nothing of selecting a specific one.

EDIT: I would however, like to know why they bothered with a BAB +1 prereq when it also takes Fighter 12...


Not exactly. Here is the full text.

CRD Page 120 said wrote:

Penetrating Strike (Combat)

Your attacks are capable of penetrating the defenses of some creatuers. Choose one type of weapon that you have already selected for Weapon Focus.

Prequisites: Weapon Focus, base attack bonus +1, 12th-level fighter, proficiency with weapon.

Benefit: Your attacks with the selected weapon ignore up to 5 points of damage reduction. This feat does not apply to damage reduction without a type (such as DR 10/-).

Some people might see the description part--that I bolded--as fluff, but it says to select ONE weapon. Under benefit, it also implies that is is one weapon (bolded again).

Have the developers clarified this?

EDIT: The designers probably meant BAB +12.

Master Arminas

Liberty's Edge

master arminas wrote:

Not exactly. Here is the full text.

CRD Page 120 said wrote:

Penetrating Strike (Combat)

Your attacks are capable of penetrating the defenses of some creatuers. Choose one type of weapon that you have already selected for Weapon Focus.

Prequisites: Weapon Focus, base attack bonus +1, 12th-level fighter, proficiency with weapon.

Benefit: Your attacks with the selected weapon ignore up to 5 points of damage reduction. This feat does not apply to damage reduction without a type (such as DR 10/-).

Some people might see the description part--that I bolded--as fluff, but it says to select ONE weapon. Under benefit, it also implies that is is one weapon (bolded again).

Have the developers clarified this?

EDIT: The designers probably meant BAB +12.

Master Arminas

The text you quoted was later hit by errata. Your quote matches my core book (3rd print), but the 3rd->5th print errata mentions changing the text to what Archaeik quoted. What they quoted also matches both the PRD and d20pfsrd, leading me to believe you're dealing with an outdated version of the rule.

By the latest version of the rule, it works for all weapons with which you have weapon focus.


I also linked directly to the PRD...


You may have an older printing or something. The PRD does not have that caveat, and they generally keep it up to date with errata. Also, 12th-level fighter is as intended, not merely +12 BAB.

I'd check through the errata documents themselves, but there are four of them and I am lazy.

Edit: Ninja'd again!


Well, that does make the feat more attractive. It is good to know, because . . . (wait for it) . . . knowing is half the battle!

Master Arminas

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
master arminas wrote:

Well, that does make the feat more attractive. It is good to know, because . . . (wait for it) . . . knowing is half the battle!

Master Arminas

And the other half? Red and blue lasers. :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Penetrating Strike and weapon focus with two weapons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions