When an ability, like the human alternate racial trait "Heart of the Fields," gives you a bonus equal to "half your level" on something, is there a rule out there that says that the bonus has a minimum of one?
Or, at first level, would "Heart of the Fields" give you a +0 bonus?
I would reread the Heart of Fields description carefully. Perhaps there's a phrase there you overlooked. I know with the Bardic Knowledge ability, which has a similar system, it specifically says that the bonus is a minimum of one (at first level).